Lafferty Wins National Enduro Round 5

Marquette, MI – Red Bull KTM Factory Team rider, Mike Lafferty, won the fifth round of the National Enduro Series in a tremendous comeback in his first race since his injury in April. Lafferty’s teammate and current point leader, Russell Bobbitt, finished a very close second.

Lafferty was unsure if he would even race this event a few weeks ago when he was still nursing a broken ankle he suffered during a practice crash. ‘I started riding again ten days ago. At first it was painful, but after the first week it really didn’t bother me to ride. That’s when I knew I would be able to return and run up front for this race,’ commented Lafferty.

The race took place under perfect conditions. The weather was nice and the terrain was challenging for the riders with both sand and rock sections. The riders ran six special tests in which Lafferty and Bobbitt maintained their normal tradition of keeping the score close. The final result came down to the wire and Lafferty managed to top Bobbitt’s score by a mere 25 seconds.

Although Lafferty was unable to compete in the fourth round, his win at round five helps move him closer to his teammate in overall series points. Bobbitt now leads the series with 126 points while Lafferty trails by 15 to hold second. ‘I am happy to know I am back where I left off,’ remarked Lafferty after his win.

Next Round: Blain, PA – July 20, 2008

Overall Results:

  1. Mike Lafferty
  2. Russell Bobbitt
  3. Nick Fahringer
  4. Cole Kirkpatrick
  5. Aaron Wegner
  6. Jeff Melik
  7. Brad Bakken
  8. Chris Galt
  9. Dylan Debel
  10. John Burgard

Overall Points:

  1. Russell Bobbitt – 126
  2. Mike Lafferty – 111
  3. Cole Kirkpatrick – 90
  4. Nick Fahringer – 65
  5. Jeff Melik – 57


Comments are closed.