Chad Reed over came grim course conditions to win the season opener of the 2008 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series with an stellar performance in Anaheim, California, tonight, topping Kawasaki teammates James Stewart and Tim Ferry for the win on a rutted and slippery track.

A non-stop rain left the Anaheim course extremely gooey despite the fact that it had been covered until mid-day , and when the gate dropped in the 20-lap final the track was snotty and deeply rutted.

At the start of the main event, Yamaha’s Grant Langston emerged from the first turn with the lead, while Reed followed just behind. Meanwhile, Stewart appeared to have been tagged from behind and then lost his front wheel heading into the turn, starting a chain reaction that also sucked in Honda riders Kevin Windham and Ivan Tedesco.

At the end of the first lap Reed had moved his L&M Yamaha around Langston, as the two led Mike Alessi, Ferry and KTM’s Nick Wey. Reed gave the lead right back to Langston on the next lap when he stalled his bike while trying to remove a tear-off. He got it together quickly retaking the lead on lap four .

Mired in the back, Stewart methodically work his way through traffic, moving into the runner-up position by the halfway point of the race but by that time Reed had pulled to a 12 second advantage over the field.

Reed extended his lead to 21 seconds over Stewart by the finish, easily taking his fourth Anaheim victory, while Stewart finished second ahead of Ferry and Langston.

In the Lites division, Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey out-dueled Yamaha’s Jason Lawrence to take the win in an exciting 15-lap final.

Supercross Final

1. Chad Reed (Yam)

2. James Stewart (Kaw)

3. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

4. Grant Langston (Yam)

5. Kevin Windham (Hon)

6. Mike Alessi (Suz)

7. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

8. Andrew Short (Hon)

9. Nick Wey (KTM)

10. David Vuillemin (Suz)

Lites Final

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Jason Lawrence (Yam)

3. Justin Brayton (KTM)

4. Daniel Reardon (Hon)

5. Austin Stroupe (Kaw)

6. Tommy Hahn (Kaw)

7. Gavin Gracyk (Hon)

8. Andrew McFarlane (Kaw)

9. Chris Blose (Suz)

10. Wil Hahn (Yam)

Comments are closed.