Over the past 47 years of racing, the AMA Pro Motocross series has held a pro national in the state of Florida 27 times. During those 27 years, six different tracks have played host to the nationals. Of those six venues, Gatorback Cycle Park had the longest standing event running 14 years in a row from 1983 to 1997. After a 22-year hiatus, the AMA Pro Motocross Championship series returned to the sunshine state for the WW Ranch National in 2019.

In 2019, WW Ranch hosted the Lucas Oil Pro motocross series for the first time in brutally hot conditions. Even the most fit riders suffered and many didn’t contend in the second motos. In those conditions, Marvin Musquin and Justin Cooper prevailed. Both riders will be riding again this year, although the weather is expected to be more cooperative. Goin in, the 450 points leader is still Zach Osborne despite his disastrous second moto flat tire last week at Spring Creek. All the momentum is with Adam Cianciarulo, who went 1-1 last week. His teammate Eli Tomac is clearly struggling although he’s optimistic at racing in Florida: “Each weekend is an opportunity to improve and that’s what we are going to do this weekend. I enjoyed racing at the WW Ranch last year and we came away with a moto win for second place overall. We also had some success here a couple of years ago when we raced the MXGP race, so we will take what we know and apply it towards this weekend’s race. I think this terrain and track style really suites my riding style, so I am ready to let it all hang out.”


1 Zach Osborne 235
2 Adam Cianciarulo 220
3 Marvin Musquin 215
4 Eli Tomac 196
5 Justin Barcia 194
6 Blake Baggett 190
7 Chase Sexton 173
8 Christian Craig 141
9 Broc Tickle 134
10 Joseph Savatgy 122
11 Max Anstie 113
12 Dean Wilson 97
13 Fredrik Noren 82
14 Henry Miller 59
15 Jason Anderson 58
16 Justin Bogle 56
17 Jake Masterpool 53
18 Justin Rodbell 49
19 Benny Bloss 47
20 Coty Schock 31
21 Cooper Webb 29
22 John Short 21
23 Ben LaMay 21
24 Grant Harlan 18
25 Jeremy Smith 18
26 Justin Hoeft 17
27 Tyler Bowers 13
28 Luke Renzland 11
29 Matthew Hubert 9
30 Chase Felong 8
31 Felix Lopez 5
32 Robbie Wageman 4
33 Jeffrey Walker 4
34 Cory Carsten 3
35 Isaac Teasdale 3
36 Jared Lesher

The 250 class is a dogfight between Dylan Ferrandis and Jeremy Martin. Despite home track advantage, Martin lost the points lead last week at Spring Creek, although he battled Ferrandis all the way to the checkered flag in the final moto.

Dylan Ferrandis (Photo by Brandon Krause)


1 Dylan Ferrandis 257
2 Jeremy Martin 254
3 RJ Hampshire 202
4 Alex Martin 194
5 Shane McElrath 186
6 Justin Cooper 164
7 Jett Lawrence 162
8 Cameron Mcadoo 140
9 Mitchell Harrison 123
10 Brandon Hartranft 114
11 Derek Drake 106
12 Carson Mumford 95
13 Jo Shimoda 90
14 Hunter Lawrence 73
15 Mason Gonzales 73
16 Stilez Robertson 70
17 Ty Masterpool 54
18 Nick Gaines 44
19 Pierce Brown 36
20 Darian Sanayei 24
21 Hardy Munoz 23
22 Jerry Robin 23
23 Lance Kobusch 18
24 Jalek Swoll 15
25 Ezra Hastings 14
26 Jarrett Frye 14
27 Joseph Crown 13
28 Derek Kelley 12
29 Gared Steinke 11
30 Austin Root 9
31 Joshua Varize 7
32 Jesse Flock 7
33 Zack Williams 6
34 Jordan Bailey 6
35 Dilan Schwartz 5
36 Maxwell Sanford 4
37 Mathias Jorgensen 4

Both motos will be broadcast, although only the first motos will be live. Here’s the schedule.


Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award
Since capturing 450 Class Rookie of the Year honors back in 2016 Benny Bloss has remained a fixture in the premier division, consistently producing solid results and emerging as a perennial top-10 contender in a talent-rich division. For the 2020 season Bloss has embarked on a campaign solely on his own, with the help of his family and sponsorship support from KT Tape. While the Missouri native has had to endure through the ups and downs of running his own effort this summer, he’s managed to still be a regular presence in the battle for a spot inside the top 10, thus far earning three top-15 finishes in five starts. At Spring Creek Bloss showed the tenacity that has made him such a highly regarded competitor by overcoming a 38th-place start in Moto 1 to fight all the way back to a spot just outside the top 10 in 13th, passing 25 riders in the process. It was one of the most impressive rebound rides of the season thus far and earned Bloss this week’s RC Hard Charger Award.

Comments are closed.