Villopoto Cashes in on $1 Million at Inaugural Monster Energy Cup

Villopoto Cashes in on $1 Million at Inaugural Monster Energy Cup


LAS VEGAS (October 15, 2011) – For the first-time  in off-road motorcycle racing history, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., won $1 million by sweeping all three main events at the inaugural Monster Energy Cup at Sam Boyd Stadium. Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo, of Port Orange, Fla., went 1-1 in the Super-Mini class and earned the overall championship. Justin Hill, of Yoncalla, Ore., finished 4-1 in the Amateur All-Star class and scored the overall.


“It’s pretty unreal,” exclaimed 2011 Monster Energy Cup champion Villopoto. “I’m happy we were able to pull it off. To back it up next year would be hard, so if we do, it would be great.  I can’t thank my team enough for this amazing victory.”


In main event 1, Villopoto jumped out to an early lead with the holeshot followed by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ben Townley, of Taupo, New Zealand, Suzuki’s Mike Alessi, of Victorville, Calif., Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Bret Metcalfe, of Menifee, Calif., and Red Bull/KTM’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn. On lap 2, Dungey passed Alessi and Metcalfe in the same corner, moving into second place, where he would put a charge on Townley. Villopoto captured the win, Townley finished second and Dungey finished third.


Once again, Villopoto pulled the holeshot in main event 2 with Dungey and Metcalfe in tow. Villopoto set himself up to win the $1 million with another win. Dungey finished second and Metcalfe finished third.


“Heading into the final moto, I just need to get another good start like I’ve been doing,” said Villopoto after the second main event. “I’ll be happy leaving here healthy, and if I win, great, if not, this was still awesome.”


Suzuki’s Mike Alessi earned the holeshot in the third and final main event with Villopoto and Dungey following in second and third, respectively. On the opening lap, Villopoto moved into the lead. Dungey and Alessi traded positions on lap 2 before Dungey made a solid pass and opened a gap on him. Metcalfe moved into third. Dungey finished second, which gave him second overall and Metcalfe finished third, which gave him third overall.



Monster Energy Cup Class Results

1.)                  Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1,1,1)

2.)                  Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (3,2,2)

3.)                  Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki (4,3,3)

4.)                  Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki (7,7,5)

5.)                  Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5,4,10)

6.)                  Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (9,9,7)

7.)                  Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki (14,11,4)

8.)                  Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha (11,10,8)

9.)                  Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (12,6,11)

10.)              Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki (6,21,6)


Comments are closed.