Jonny Walker
Jonny Walker
The four-man podium. Photos by Future7 Media
The four-man podium. Photos by Future7 Media

Karl Katoch, the man behind the concept of the Erzbergrodeo, and the very difficult Red Bull Hare Scramble promised at the outset that the twenty-first edition of this Extreme Hard Enduro that it would be the toughest ever. All of the five riders that made it to the finish at the bottom of Austria’s Iron Mountain will agree that he succeeded. Four rider were declared joint winners.

Some 500 starters lined up to contest the toughest one-day Hard Enduro on the sporting calendar and of the five finishers, four were declared joint winners in an event that was marked by high drama from start to finish. KTM riders Jonny Walker (GBR) and Andreas Lettenbichler (GER), and Husqvarna riders Graham Jarvis (GBR) and Alfredo Gomez (ESP) rode together up onto the Red Bull winner’s arch and each took their turn in holding up the famed trophy – a piece of rock from the Iron Mountain.

Drama unfolded right from the start of the first wave of 50 riders, the fastest qualifiers from the Iron Road Prologue. Riding alongside each other were Red Bull KTM’s five-times Hare Scramble winner, Taddy Blazusiak of Poland and his factory teammate and 2014 winner Jonny Walker. They charged together up the steep gravel slope that launches the race and just before the summit, their bikes touched. Walker got away unscathed but Blazusiak went down and was struck on the head by the bike. He was taken to hospital with concussion.

Andreas Lettenbichler
Andreas Lettenbichler

Walker then took the lead and 27 minutes into the race had a 4 minute 27 advantage over Jarvis, Lettenbichler Gomez and Mario Roman, the only other finisher who crossed the line just 32 seconds inside the four-hour time limit.

But when riders reached the section called Carl’s Diner, a bolder strewn passage that had to be crossed twice, it was clear that this was going to be no walk in the park. Then all four lead riders were together when they reached a new section called “Downtown” an uphill slope that finally proved to be impossible to ride.

Jarvis was the first to get stuck and very soon the other three were backed up behind him. After close consultation, they decided to pool their resources and help each other up the hill, a process that took more than an hour.  By the time they got to the top, organizers had decided to remove one of the checkpoints near the end and the four riders opted to ride together to the finish.

Walker’s winning ride in 2014 was just under two hours. On Sunday, the four joint winners reached the finish in just a shade under four hours. Speaking after the race, Walker said: “ I made a good start and early on I pushed really hard. I got a five-minute lead then I made a stupid mistake on one of the hills and I lost maybe 3-4 minutes. That allowed Graham (Jarvis) to catch me. I tried to push but I had a small crash and dented the radiator and it was letting water out. Graham and Gomez passed me, and then we all got stuck on this hill. We talked and decided to pull each other up and ride to the finish. It was by far the hardest Erzberg I have ever done.”

Mario Roman
Mario Roman

Andreas Lettenbichler agreed. “ It was a really tough one. This is my tenth edition and today was the hardest. This one “Downtown’ section was impossible to ride and we had to help each other. Everyone was completely exhausted after this section and it was too dangerous to have a restart. It was an incredible race, difficult but I’m happy.”

KTM Factory Team Manager Alex Doringer: “Sunday’s race was very special and it was more difficult with this extreme temperature. I didn’t see it, but I heard that Taddy and Jonny came together on the first uphill and I am sorry about what happened to Taddy when he crashed. This is racing and it happens, but he’s a five-time winner and he’s the king here at this event. The last part where they got stuck was really difficult but I am happy that we made an agreement with our riders that they would help each other to finish. I also want to give a big thanks to Carl (Katoch), his wife, Martin Kettner and everyone involved. The organization was fantastic.”

Heinz Kinigadner, (KTM Factory Racing Motorsport consultant) said Erzberg had once again lived up to its reputation as the toughest extreme enduro. He added that it was on also good to see that fairness emerged above sporting ambition and that four winners were declared. “ Too bad it didn’t come to a duel with Taddy,” he added. “But except for headache and neck pain he is okay and is already on his way to Munich for the flight back home to Spain. I am especially happy for Letti (Lettenbichler), who has his long deserved victory after many podiums.”

Results Red Bull Hare Scramble Erzbergrodeo 2015

1. Alfredo Gomez (ESP), Husqvarna, 3:58.25 h
1. Jonny Walker (GBR), KTM, +0 sec
1. Graham Jarvis (GBR), Husqvarna, +0
1. Andreas Lettenbichler (GER), KTM, +0
2. Mario Roman Serrano (ESP), KTM +31 sec

Comments are closed.