Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac returned to the top of the AMA Supercross podium at Nashville, but had to do it the hard way. Not only did he have to pass half the riders in the field including points leader Cooper Webb, but to even get into the main he had to overcome motor troubles that sent him to the Last Chance Qualifier. The main event started with all the fast guys up front and Tomac outside the top 10. Cooper Webb got the holeshot with Marvin Musquin hot on his heels. On the second lap, Musquin self-destructed in the whoops, hitting the ground hard. Joey Savatgy inherited second place, but then he fell and took Ken Roczen with him. That left Webb looking like he would cruise to an easy win, but it didn’t happen that way. Tomac took advantage of all the chaos to move into second place by lap eight. One lap later he moved past a very defensive Webb and started to pull away.  Baggett then started pressuring Webb with Dean Wilson close behind. Eventually, Baggett would pass Webb, but by that time, Tomac was almost 10 seconds away. Musquin rode hard to catch up to sixth with Roczen catching up to eighth, but they both lost ground in the championship. When it was over, Cooper Webb’s third place was enough to extend his points lead to 21 points.  For extended coverage of the 2019 Nashville Supercross, click here.


1 Eli Tomac
2 Blake Baggett
3 Cooper Webb
4 Dean Wilson
5 Zach Osborne
6 Marvin Musquin
7 Cole Seely
8 Ken Roczen
9 Justin Bogle
10 Tyler Bowers
11 Chris Blose
12 Ben Lamay
13 Kyle Chisholm
14 Mike Alessi
15 Justin Starling
16 Austin Politelli
17 Alex Ray
18 Ryan Breece
19 Justin Barcia
20 Justin Hill
21 Joshua Grant
22 Joey Savatgy


The first start of heat one saw Mike Alessi and Joey Savatgy go for the holeshot. Cooper Webb went down on the first lap and Marvin Musquin got into the lead, but everything was called back to the line when Ronnie Stewart and Tyler Enticknap went down and officials brought out the red flag. All the riders returned to the line for a complete restart. Everything changed this time around. Eli Tomac and Cooper Webb traded paint on the first lap while Musquin appeared to struggle with Justin Bogle a few places back. Soon, Tomac established himself in the lead while Joey Savatgy reeled in Webb. Everything changed in the late laps. Tomac pulled off with a mechanical problem at the same time as Savatgy passed Webb. Musquin went down, dropping all the way back to 11th. In the end, Webb made several huge mistakes and Savatgy was able to pull off the win. Musquin got up to 8th, eliminating the need to go to the LCQ, where he would have had to deal with an angry Tomac.

1 Joey Savatgy
2 Cooper Webb
3 Justin Bogle
4 Justin Hill
5 Justin Barcia
6 Kyle Chisholm
7 Chris Blose
8 Marvin Musquin
9 Mike Alessi
10 Austin Politelli
11 Adam Enticknap
12 Jared Lesher
13 Logan Karnow
14 Alexander Nagy
15 Michael Akaydin
16 Scotty Wennerstrom
17 Johan Nystrom
18 Eli Tomac
19 Ronnie Stewart
20 Tyler Enticknap


Honda had its best heat of the season  with Ken Roczen and Cole Seely going one-two in heat two. It didn’t start that way. Zach Osborne got the holeshot with Blake Baggett close behind. Roczen passed them both, and Baggett had a number of troubles, dropping him back to fifth. Soon, the two Honda riders established themselves in front while Osborne held off Dean Wilson for third.

1 Ken Roczen
2 Cole Seely
3 Zach Osborne
4 Dean Wilson
5 Blake Baggett
6 Joshua Grant
7 Tyler Bowers
8 Ben Lamay
9 Alex Ray
10 Ryan Breece
11 Justin Starling
12 Charles Lefrancois
13 Kyle Swanson
14 Carlen Gardner
15 Daniel Herrlein
16 Casey Brennan
17 Joan Cros
18 Vann Martin
19 Josh Greco
20 Tevin Tapia

450 LCQ

The Last Chance Qualifier was easy work for Eli Tomac despite a mediocre start. He passed Austin Politelli within a few laps an cruised to what should have been an easy win. But in the last few laps, his Kawasaki started smoking. The team had performed a quick motor change between races, and there was a possibility that something wasn’t quite right. He won, but the bike was sequestered back to the pits quickly.

1 Eli Tomac
2 Austin Politelli
3 Justin Starling
4 Ryan Breece
5 Charles Lefrancois
6 Adam Enticknap
7 Carlen Gardner
8 Jared Lesher
9 Casey Brennan
10 Logan Karnow
11 Kyle Swanson
12 Johan Nystrom
13 Joan Cros
14 Vann Martin
15 Alexander Nagy
16 Josh Greco
17 Tevin Tapia
18 Michael Akaydin
19 Daniel Herrlein
20 Scotty Wennerstrom
21 Tyler Enticknap
22 Ronnie Stewart

Comments are closed.