Thad Duvall, on the Shenandoah Honda/Offroadchampion’s CRF450, got the 2012 Can-Am GNCC Series rolling again with his first career XC1-class win at the Can-Am Unadilla GNCC in New Berlin, New York, September 16 (round 10 of 13). It was also Honda’s first win in GNCC since 2007. And JG Offroad/American Honda’s Nate Kanney made it two Hondas on the podium by finishing third.

Paul Whibley, on the FMF/AmPro Yamaha, finished second, preserving his XC1-class lead in the points standings.

‘I probably rode one of the best races I’ve ever ridden today,’ DuVall said. ‘We made a few changes over the summer and it really panned out.’

DuVall and Whibley engaged in a good battle for the win late in the race but DuVall was able to get away.

‘Thad and I were battling at the end and I broke my front brake lever on the last lap,’ Whibley said. ‘There was no way I could keep up with Thad after that, he was riding really good.’

Kanney pulled away from Chris Bach at the end to get third, while FMF KTM’s Kailub Russell, second points, recovered from a third-lap crash to get fourth after passing Bach late in the race.

Bach held on for fifth, followed by Jordan Ashburn, Charlie Mullins, Jimmy Jarrett, Rory Mead and Takeshi Koikeda (KTM).

Whibley enjoys his largest lead yet in the race for the 2012 championship. He’s now 13 points ahead of Russell and 64 points ahead of third-place Mead.

In the XC2 Pro Lites class, the race for the 2012 title tightened up with F.A.R. Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong capturing his fourth win in the last five rounds, putting him in full contention for the championship with Steward Baylor and Jason Thomas after missing the first few rounds with injury.

Finishing second on the day was Yamaha rider Morgan Moss who was competing again for the first time since having knee surgery. Moss out-dueled Husky rider Nick Davis at the end. It was Davis’ first podium of the year.

Fourth went to series points leader Baylor who was slowed by a flat tire.

Yamaha rider Brad Bakken rounded out the top five.

With three rounds to go, Baylor leads Thomas, who finished eighth on the day, by 10 points, and DeLong is three points behind Thomas in third.


1.      Thad DuVall (Hon)

2.      Paul Whibley (Yam)

3.      Nate Kanney (Hon)

4.      Kailub Russell (KTM)

5.      Chris Bach (Yam)

6.      Jordan Ashburn (Yam)

7.      Charlie Mullins (KTM)

8.      Jimmy Jarrett (Hon)

9.      Rory Mead (KTM)

10.   Takeshi Koikeda (KTM)


1.      Andrew DeLong (Hus)

2.      Morgan Moss (Yam)

3.      Nick Davis (Hus)

4.      Steward Baylor (KTM)

5.      Brad Bakken (Yam)

6.      Jedediah Haines (Yam)

7.      Michael Mcginnis (KTM

8.      Jason Thomas (KTM)

9.      AJ Stewart (Yam)

10.   Cody Gragg (Yam)

Comments are closed.