Taddy Blazusiak wins Indy EnduroCross

Kyle Redmond and Kevin Rookstool beat established stars for the final podium positions!


Indianapolis, IN (August 27, 2010) – Round three of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series presented by E3 Sparkplugs made its inaugural visit to Indianapolis Indiana on Friday night to kick off the MotoGP weekend.  The vocal contingent of European fans got to witness one of their own take the win as Taddy Blazusiak showed off his amazing talent.  The Polish KTM rider battled early with Mike Brown and had pressure from Geoff Aaron but proved to be the only rider to avoid serious mistakes and slowly left the other riders behind.  The battle for the final podium spots was amazing as no fewer than six riders battled hard for the positions.  In the end, GEICO backed Kyle Redmond took second for his first ever EnduroCross podium.  The California rider has been the top American at Extreme Enduro events such as Erzeberg and Romaniacs multiple times and finally made his skills pay off on the intense EnduroCross course.  He was joined by another first time podium finisher as RPM KTM backed Kevin Rookstool, a journeyman motocross racer that has made all three main events this season stole the position from some established stars.

Kyle Redmond grabbed his first Endurocross podium finish on his Geico backed Kawa.


Cody Webb, the recently crowned 2010 National Trials champion got the day started by setting the fastest time during the Pioneer Hot Lap that determines the gate picks for the evenings heat races.  The Gas Gas rider also earned a $500 bonus from Rekluse clutch by being the fastest rider using their auto clutch.  Taddy Blazusiak and Geoff Aaron were the second and third fastest qualifiers.


Brown, Blazusiak and Aaron were the heat race winners and Brown used his first gate pick to take the $750 Girardi Wealth Management holeshot award.  Brown struggled through the wood pile on the first lap and dropped back to third, which he held until he yard saled in the same section and ultimately finished 9th.  Geoff Aaron, the second place finisher at the last two events held second and then third position for most of the race but bent his shifter and finished 11th.  Redmond steadily rode his Kawasaki to second position and held it despite several riders breathing down his neck all the way to the checkered flag.  Rookstool had to go through the LCQ to make the main event and then rode a solid race to hold off Gary Sutherlin and Justin Soule.  Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker had a legitimate shot at the podium but threw it away in the same log pile that took Brown down and he finished sixth ahead of Cory Graffunder and Jamie Lanza.  Brown, Webb and Aaron rounded out 9th to 11th positions.


In the support classes, Steve Leivan won the Vet class over Off Road legend Jeff Fredette and Rik Smits, the former Indiana Pacers basketball player that now loves riding dirt bikes.  Michael Williams won the open Amateur main event and Patrick Smage won the TrialsCross class.  The top four in the Amateur classes battled for $500 in the dash for cash and Smage came back again to take the cash for gas money back to Wisconsin.


2010 Indianapolis EnduroCross Expert Class results:

 Taddy Blazusiak        KTM
Kyle Redmond            Kasasaki
Kevin Rookstool          KTM
Gary Sutherlin Kawasaki
Justin Soule                Kawasaki
Colton Haaker Kawasaki
Cory Graffunder         Husqvarna
Jamie Lanza               Kawasaki
Mike Brown                 KTM
Cody Webb                 Gas Gas
Geoff Aaron                Christini KTM

Comments are closed.