Photo, Red Bull
Photo, Red Bull

Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak was in solid form on Saturday to take his second overall win in the FIM SuperEnduro series in Rd. 2 at Riesa, Germany. The Polish rider led in a three-way KTM podium sweep with David Knight in second and KTM factory rider Jonny Walker of Britain in third.

Blazusiak, a Red Bull athlete heavily supported by 10,000 enthusiastic fans also won the Holeshot Award to round off a good night on the track at the SachsenArena in Riesa. He finished with a 1-3-2 result in his three races and now leads the championship by 13 points after two of the six rounds. Taddy was riding the KTM 300 EXC 2-stroke.

While British rider David Knight, now back on a KTM, was in consistent form picking up a 2-1-3 result, Walker, after winning the SuperPole early in the evening, got stronger as the evening went on, picking up a win in the final of three races to boost his points for the evening. Walker, also a Red Bull athlete said later: “Another roller coaster night in SuperEnduro but all came good in the last race and I finally took a win. Hopefully this is a turning point.”

KTM Enduro Factory Team Manager Fabio Farioli said it had been a good night for his riders. “Taddy and Jonny were a bit unlucky in the second heat, which starts in reverse order. They both got tangled with back markers at the start and Taddy was only able to scramble back to third after he crashed right at the start.”

It was also a solid night out for KTM riders from the US with Taylor Robert taking a fourth overall and Cody Webb finishing sixth. Both are adjusting well to the smaller more compact tracks in Europe and can expect to get stronger as the season progresses.

KTM riders also took the top three places in the junior category with Andreas Linusson of Sweden topping the podium. American Ty Tremaine was second and young German Manuel Lettenbichler, son of KTM factory rider Andreas Lettenbichler finished third.

Overall Results (individual race results)

1, Taddy Blazusiak POL, KTM 54 points (1-3-2)
2, David Knight, GBR, KTM 53 (2-1-3)
3, Jonny Walker, GBR, KTM 46 (6-4-1)
4, Taylor Robert, USA, KTM, 39 (4-2-7)
5, Alfredo Gomez, ESP, Husqvarna 35 (3-9-4)
6, Cody Webb, USA KTM 31 (5-7-5)

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.