It was an evening of surprises at the 2019 Monster Energy Supercross opening round in Anaheim, California. It seemed that the preseason favorites struggled all night while underdogs shined. Adding to the chaos was increasing rainfall that began before the main events and eventually turned the 450 race into a trial of survival. In the end, it was Monster Energy Yamaha factor rider Justin Barcia who prevailed in the 450 class, ending his personal dry spell in Supercross. Privateer Dean Wilson, however, stole the show for most of the race. He led 14 laps with none other than Smartop Honda rider Malcolm Stewart on his tail, while Eli Tomac, Jason Anderson and Marvin Musquin were buried in the pack. With four laps to go, the rain was falling especially hard and Barcia once again proved how well he rides in the wet stuff. He passed Wilson and pulled a quick lead. HRC Honda’s Ken Roczen  passed Wilson on the next lap. Tomac also has a history of doing well in mud races, and in the last five laps, he made up considerable time to finally take over third place.


Defending Champion Jason Anderson struggled all night, like many of the prerace favorites. Photos by Travis Fant.

1 51 Justin Barcia Greenville, FL Yamaha YZ450F
2 94 Ken Roczen Clermont, FL Honda CRF 450
3 3 Eli Tomac Cortez, CO Kawasaki KX 450F
4 15 Dean Wilson Clermont, FL Husqvarna FC450
5 2 Cooper Webb Newport, NC KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edit
6 7 Aaron Plessinger Hamilton, OH Yamaha YZ450F
7 27 Malcolm Stewart Haines City, FL Honda CRF 450
8 25 Marvin Musquin Corona, CA KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edit
9 22 Chad Reed Dade City, FL Suzuki RM-Z450
10 14 Cole Seely Sherman Oaks, CA Honda CRF 450
11 10 Justin Brayton Mint Hill, NC Honda CRF 450
12 4 Blake Baggett Grand Terrace, CA KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edit
13 42 Vince Friese Cape Girardeau, MO Honda CRF 450
14 1 Jason Anderson Rio Rancho, NM Husqvarna FC450
15 46 Justin Hill Yoncalla, OR Suzuki RM-Z450
16 17 Joey Savatgy Tallahassee, FL Kawasaki KX 450F
17 805 Carlen Gardner Paso Robles, CA Honda CRF 450
18 41 Ben Lamay Anchorage, AK Honda CRF 450
19 19 Justin Bogle Cushing, OK KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edit
20 86 Ryan Breece Athol, ID Yamaha YZ450F
21 43 Tyler Bowers Lake Elsinore, CA Kawasaki KX 450F
22 11 Kyle Chisholm Valrico, FL Suzuki RM-Z450

Shane McElrath didn’t win as he did for the previous two years, but he did land on the podium.

In the much drier 250 class, it was Oklahoma native Colt Nichols who led from start to finish for Star Racing Yamaha. Most of the drama in that class was watching the up-and-down performance of Adam Cianciarulo, who made a number of mistakes. One of those was a particularly aggressive pass on Geico Honda’s RJ Hamshire, who retaliated in the very next turn. That put Cianciarulo on the ground and off the podium. Dylan Ferrandis was second, making it one-two for Yamaha, ahead of last year’s A1 winner Shane McElrath.

1 39 Colt Nichols Muskogee, OK Yamaha YZ250F
2 34 Dylan Ferrandis Murrieta, CA Yamaha YZ250F
3 12 Shane Mcelrath Canton, NC KTM 250 SX-F
4 31 Rj Hampshire Wesley Chapel, FL Honda CRF 250
5 92 Adam Cianciarulo New Smyrna Beach, FL Kawasaki KX 250F
6 61 Garrett Marchbanks Coalville, UT Kawasaki KX 250F
7 64 James Decotis Peabody, MA Suzuki RM-Z250
8 156 Jacob Hayes Greensboro, NC Yamaha YZ250F
9 111 Chris Blose Phoenix, AZ Husqvarna FC250
10 160 Jess Pettis Prince George, Canada KTM 250 SX-F
11 44 Cameron Mcadoo Chesterfield, SC Honda CRF 250
12 36 Michael Mosiman Menifee, CA Husqvarna FC250
13 72 Martin Castelo Murrieta, CA Suzuki RM-Z250
14 194 Jerry Robin Corcoran, MN KTM 250 SX-F
15 67 Enzo Lopes Wildomar, CA Suzuki RM-Z250
16 40 Sean Cantrell Murrieta, CA KTM 250 SX-F
17 221 Matthew Jorgensen Bjerge, Denmark KTM 250 SX-F
18 321 Bradley Lionnet Menifee, CA Yamaha YZ250F
19 68 Brandan Leith Eagle Mountain, UT Husqvarna FC250
20 910 Carson Brown Ravensdale, WA Husqvarna FC250
21 773 Thomas Do SAINT ROMAIN EN VIENNOIS, France Suzuki RM-Z250
22 471 Logan Karnow Vermilion, OH Kawasaki KX 250F

Comments are closed.