Steward Baylor battled with his brother and took a very close win to wrap up another title. Word has it he’ll be switching teams next year. Photo Kenny King

 Steward Baylor claimed his fourth win of the season at the final round of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series at Perry Mountain in Maplesville, Alabama, edging his brother, Grant, by one second to secure the victory.  With the win, Steward also laid claim to his fourth National Enduro title, finishing the season 31 points clear of Grant.

Steward got off to an uncharacteristically fast start, with a win in test one, and the battle was on, as Grant and Steward took turns winning tests with the two Tely Energy Racing-backed brothers accounting for every test win except for test two, which was won by Gnarly Routes KTM’s Russell Bobbitt.

Grant Baylor pushed hard and came oh so close to winning- he lost by one second. Photo Kenny King

Grant led by four seconds heading into the sixth and final test, however, Steward made up the ground plus an extra second to claim the “W”.

“I think we were separated by seconds going into that last one,” said Steward. “That’s pretty cool. It’s badass to be doing this with your brother, it just makes it that much better.”

Making just his third appearance all year, Bobbitt turned up the heat in the final test to eclipse Husqvarna/Max Motorsports/FXR’s Evan Smith and XC Gear/Enduro Engineering/Husqvarna’s Ryder Lafferty for the final podium position.

Russell Bobbitt hasn’t raced a whole lot this year but looked very strong, ending up on the podium. Photo Kenny King

“I was a little leery if I was going to be able to hold on the whole time,” said Bobbitt. “I haven’t been riding fast, or training like that. Evan made a mistake in that last test, so I got him by one second. And Ryder and I were really close all day, so it turned into the standard battle with a Lafferty.”

Evan Smith had one mistake that cost him third place. Photo Kenny King

Smith held a 17-second lead over Bobbitt going into the final test, but a bobble cost him 18 second, so he missed the podium by a single second to finish fourth. Lafferty turned in a strong couple of tests to start the race, but got stuck on a hill and then lost his brakes in the final test, leaving him with fifth overall.

Ryder Lafferty charged hard, but cooked his brakes and had to settle for fifth overall. Photo Kenny King

Tely Energy Racing’s Liam Draper rounded out the top five, which also gave the New Zealander the win in the NE Pro2 class, as well. Draper topped FXR, Bryan Easler Toyota, Kenda tires, XC gear-backed Jonathan Johnson by 33 seconds. Johnson was getting a taste of his first National Enduro and was impressive for a newcomer with a seventh overall and a second place in the NE Pro2 division.

Mackenzie Tricker had already wrapped up the Women’s Elite title, but took home another victory.

In the Women’s Elite class, Mepmx/Fly/Grizzly Peak/Traveler’s Rest Speedway/KTM’s Mackenzie Tricker won four of the five tests to claim the win by 1m 42s over Beta USA’s Rachel Gutish. Gutish won test five. Meanwhile, Beta-mounted Alexis Phillips rounded out the podium in third, finishing ahead of Monica Gilliam, Ashlie Peterson and Jessica Delee.

At the end of the day, a brand new 2019 Beta 250RR was given to the Beta Cup winner, which went to the top points getter who was riding a 2018 or 2019 Beta 125RR during the season. Alexis Phillips took home the Beta for winning the Women’s Amateur class with 230 points, which included six wins in eight rounds. Alexis moved up to the Women’s Elite division for the Alabama round and finished third.

For more information on the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series go to



  1. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  2. Grant Baylor (KTM)
  3. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
  4. Evan Smith (Hsq)
  5. Ryder Lafferty (KTM)
  6. Liam Draper (KTM)
  7. Jonathan Johnson (Hon)
  8. Ron Commo (KTM)
  9. Evan Earl (Kaw)
  10. Noah Clark (Yam)

Comments are closed.