The Six Hours of Glen Helen was a test of commitment this year, with overnight rain complicating everything. Early arrivals on Sunday morning were greeted with a flooded entrance road, and the race had to be delayed by over an hour to get the teams and the course situated. It tuned out to be a truly great event, with almost the entire course made up of single-track trails and fire-roads. The Glen Helen National MX track was covered with standing water, but the Glen Helen crew managed to put together a seven mile loop that took expert teams around 14 minutes to navigate. The Chaparral/Precision Concepts team of Blayne Thompson and Justin Seeds was the overall winner. They had a nearly perfect race starting with a holeshot and ending with the checkered blag, which was thrown by four-time National MX Champion Gary Jones. For full results, go to

The Chaparral Racing Team of Blayne Thompson and Justin Seeds led every lap of the 2018 Six Hours of Glen Helen.
The all teenage team (two 14 year-olds and one 16 year old) of Tyler Nicholson, RJ Warda, and Thomas Dunn held second place the entire day on a KTM two-stroke.
The Ironman class was loaded and very fast. Gerardo Gonzales was the winner.
The course was all fire-road and single track as most of the Glen Helen National track was flooded from overnight rain. Seth Pebbles races Mason Boren to get to the narrow trails first.
Samantha Vincent led the winning woman’s team.
Holley Hoffman’s second-place Woman’s team stayed within minutes of the class winner throughout the day.
Kevin Johnson was the winner of the 40 expert class, climbing all the way into the top 10 overall.
Daniel Lick’s KTM team looked great all six hours. They eventually finished fourth in the expert class and eighth overall.
Open Novice winner Chris Frank was sixth out of the entire field.
Because so much of the course was single track, it occasionally required some patience to get through technical sections.
The Family class is always big at the Glen Helen Endurance races. John Alexander, Brandon Alexander and Ryan Salazar were second.


Comments are closed.