Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Notes Package

Past Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Winners

’07: Grant Langston, Yamaha

’06: James Stewart, Kawasaki

’05: Ricky Carmichael, Suzuki

’04: Chad Reed, Yamaha

’03: Chad Reed, Yamaha

’02: Mike LaRocco, Honda

’01: Ricky Carmichael, Honda

’00: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki

’99 Jeff Emig, Yamaha

’98: Damon Huffman, Kawasaki


2008 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Notes

    * Grant Langston’s win at last year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open was the most notable of his career in the premier class.
    * Carmichael holds the most wins at the U.S. Open with three. Chad Reed can tie the record this weekend.
    * Reed and Carmichael are the only riders to win the U.S. Open in back-to-back years.
    * Carmichael, Reed and Stewart are the only riders to win the U.S. Open in the same years they earned AMA Supercross championships.
    * Stewart, Emig, LaRocco, Reed and Carmichael are the only riders to have won the World Supercross GP championship as well as the U.S. Open.
    * U.S. Open wins by brand: Kawasaki: 3; Yamaha: 3; Honda: 2, Suzuki: 1
    * Huffman and LaRocco are the only past U.S. Open winners that have not won an AMA Supercross class title.
    * In 2005, Carmichael became the only rider in history to win the grand slam by sweeping the U.S. Open, AMA Supercross, World Supercross GP, AMA Motocross and Motocross of Nations championship in the same season.
    * Seven-time AMA Supercross champion Jeremy McGrath’s best finish at the U.S. Open was second in 2001.
    * Langston, Stewart, LaRocco, Emig and Carmichael are the only riders to win an AMA Motocross championship and a U.S. Open championship.
    * Huffman’s only major AMA Supercross class championship is the U.S. Open.
    * Stewart is the only rider to win the mini class and AMA Supercross class championships in U.S. Open history.
    * Factory Suzuki’s Mike Alessi will not race this year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open. After recovering from a horrific crash in the AMA Motocross Championships, Alessi ran into bad luck once again, crashing again and breaking his leg.
    * This year’s legends rematch race will feature Damon Bradshaw and Jeff Matiasevich. Their storied rivalry will be reignited this weekend as they compete both nights in a five-lap race.
    * The Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational features the nation’s top 12 minicycle racers from the 85cc 12-13 Stock Class at the AMA Air Nautiques Amateur National Championship Finals at Loretta Lynn Ranch.
    * Stewart and Reed are the favorites coming into this weekend’s race according to the MGM MIRAGE Race and Sports Book. This is the first time the two supercross champions will race against each other at the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open.
    * Stewart and Reed are both on new teams and will make their debut this weekend. Stewart will race a Yamaha for the first time in his professional career and Reed will race a Suzuki for the first time in America.
    * Reed’s teammate Ryan Dungey makes his professional debut at the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open. He did compete at the U.S. Open an amateur in the 85cc Mini Invitational and finished a solid seventh place with 6-4-5-11 finishes.
    * Last year’s Saturday night winner Jake Weimer will not compete in this year’s race. Weimer is adjusting to his new Pro Circuit Kawasaki team after spending three years with the Factory Connection Honda team.
    * Freestyle motocross legend Travis Pastrana remains the only rider in U.S. Open history to compete in the racing and freestyle portion of the event.
    * The U.S. Open is the unofficial birthplace of four-stroke motorcycles racing supercross. The inaugural U.S. Open in 1998 hosted an exhibition four-stroke race featuring riders like Greg Schnell and Lance Smail. In 2006, Carmichael and Michael Byrne made their four-stroke début on a supercross track. Today, the four-stroke is the weapon of choice for all of the top supercross/motocross racers.
    * The 2008 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open will air on CBS Sports Saturday, October 20, from 1:30-3:00 p.m. EST.
    * The pre-race press conference will be webcast live Thursday, October 11, from Noon-2:00 at, featuring Chad Reed and Tim Ferry.
    * Each night of racing will be webcast starting at 7:00 p.m. PST on
    * The Trifecta bonus program is offering $250,000 to the winner of all six events throughout the weekend. Toyota will sponsor the superpole portion of the race, posting $10,000 each night.
    * The track layout will be completely different from Friday to Saturday night:
    * The nation’s top amateurs will be competing this Sunday in the seventh-annual Amateur Arenacross World Finals.


2007 Results


1)       Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha, 38pts, 2-5

2)       Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 38pts, 1-8

3)       Josh Demuth, Keller, Texas, Honda, 37pts, 6-2

4)       Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 36pts, 10-1

5)       Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 36pts, 5-3

6)       Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 34pts, 3-7

7)       Dan Reardon, Australia, Honda, 32pts, 7-4

8)       Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, KTM, 28pts, 8-6

9)       Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 27pts, 4-12

10)   Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 22pts, 9-11


Alpinestars Rematch Race Overall Results

1)       Mike LaRocco

2)       Damon Huffman

3)       Jeff Emig


Open Class Results, Saturday

1)       Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda

2)       Josh Demuth, Keller, Texas, Honda

3)       Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki

4)       Dan Reardon, Australia, Honda

5)       Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha

6)       Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, KTM

7)       Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda

8)       Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha

9)       Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda

10)   Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda


Alpinestars Rematch Race, Saturday

1)       Mike LaRocco

2)       Damon Huffman

3)       Jeff Emig

Comments are closed.