Red Bull KTM’s Kurt Caselli Wins WORCS Round 1

Red Bull KTM’s Kurt Caselli started out the season well with a race win at Round 1 of the World Off-Road Championship Series.
Caselli had a slow start coming around in 7th on the first lap. His teammate Justin Soulè got caught mid-pack in 12th position. By the second lap Caselli began to move forward and had worked his way into fifth. Soule also was on the move passing a rider to take over 11th on the second lap.
At the mid-point of the race Caselli was on the gas catching the leaders. He quickly moved into fourth, third and then second place. Meanwhile, Soulè was on the motocross portion of the course nearing the triple. He came up short and cased the jump dislocating his ankle in the process. He pulled over and put his ankle back in place. This incident caused him to fall back to 19th position. Nonetheless, he fought through the pain and charged forward to finish 15th overall.
Defending WORCS Champion, Caselli, showed why he holds the current number one plate when he passed Bobby Bonds for the lead on the second to last lap. Caselli finished the race in the lead picking up the first race win of the season! Joining Caselli on the podium was RPM KTM rider, Kyle Summers, who finished third in Phoenix.

The next WORCS round will be in Mesquite, NV February 15-17, 2008.
Overall Results:

1  Kurt Caselli Palmdale, CA KTM 11 2:00:30.4
2  Bobby Bonds Maricopa, CA YAM 11 2:01:44.2
3  Kyle Summers Colorado Springs, CO KTM 11 2:02:00.1
4  Damon Huffman Valencia, CA KAW 11 2:02:41.5
5  Nathan Woods Paso Robles, CA SUZ 11 2:02:58.9
6  Robby Bell Sun City, CA HON 11 2:03:01.6
7  Bobby Garrison Hesperia, CA YAM 11 2:03:48.5
8  Destry Abbott Peoria, AZ KAW 11 2:04:12.7
9  Brenden Ritzman Port Orchard, WA KAW 11 2:04:24.8
10  Ricky Dietrich Winchester, CA KAW 11 2:04:32.6
11  Chris N. Johnson El Cajon, CA SUZ 11 2:04:51.9
12  Arik Swan Santa Cruz, CA YAM 11 2:05:33.8
13  Jamie Lanza Beaumont, CA KAW 11 2:06:06.3
14  Gary Sutherlin Phoenix, AZ KTM 11 2:06:19.0
15  Justin Soule’ Reno, NV KTM 11 2:07:13.0
16  Dennis Stapleton Capitola, CA HON 11 2:07:14.1
17  Daryl Ecklund Lancaster, CA HON 11 2:08:09.2
18  Tim Weigand Santa Clarita, CA HON 11 2:08:42.2
19  Ty Davis Hesperia, CA SUZ 11 2:08:55.4  

Comments are closed.