Red Bull KTM GNCC Race Report: The Spartan

Sparta, KY – Red Bull KTM rider and current series point’s leader, David Knight, and his teammate Nate Kanney had a successful weekend at the seventh round of the GNCC series, both finishing inside the top five.

Although it wasn’t the dominating race weekend most fans are used to seeing Knight pull off, he did start out well, rounding the first turn in 2nd place while Kanney was right behind in 3rd. For the first few laps, the two Red Bull KTM Factory riders stayed within the top three on this fast-paced course. At one point Knight escaped with the lead as he and Josh Strang battled back and forth for that front spot.

Unfortunately, around lap 4, Knight hit the ground hard after a big crash which knocked him back quite a few positions. He remounted, but was a little shaken from the crash and only managed to fight his way back into 5th at the finish. Kanney, finished one position better in 4th for the weekend. Despite missing a victory at the Spartan race, Knight still holds a large overall point lead, while this weekend helped Kanney to move closer to the top five in overall points.

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Justin Williamson had a decent 4th place start in the XC-2 main event. He stayed within the top five for a while before he fell slightly off pace losing a few positions as he battled through the heat and dust to remain in the front pack. Near the end of the three hour race, he had settled into a comfortable 7th place position where he would finish overall.

Next Event: Yadkinville, NC – June 21-22, 2008

XC-1 Class Overall Results:

Paul Whibley

Glenn Kearney

Joshua Strang

Nate Kanney – KTM

David Knight – KTM

Charles Mullins

Jason Raines

Jim Jarrett

Garrett Edmisten

Brian Garrahan

XC-1 Class Overall Points:

David Knight – 171

Paul Whibley – 148

Joshua Strang – 129

Jimmy Jarrett – 112

Charles Mullins – 112

Nate Kanney – 103

Jason Raines – 82

Thaddeus Duvall – 79

Glenn Kearney – 76

Jesse Robinson – 67 

XC-2 Class Overall Results:

Kailub Russell – KTM

Dustin Gibson

Andrew Matusek

Scott Watkins

Brian Lawson

Eric Bailey – KTM

Justin Williamson – KTM

David Synder

Kevin Korn

John Day – KTM

XC-2 Class Overall Points:

Thaddeus Duvall – 181

Dustin Gibson – 151

Kailub Russell – 128

Josh Weisenfels – 127

Andrew Matusek – 94

Brian Lawson – 85

Justin Williamson – 77

Johnny Barber – 76

Eric Bailey – 68

Scott Watkins – 61

Comments are closed.