Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, Anaheim, CA – Jan. 17, 2009

Before 43,009 fans at Angel Stadium, Team San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., won his second consecutive Monster Energy AMA 450 race. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Chad Reed, of Dade City, Fla., moved into the 450 points lead with a valiant come-from-behind race where he started in 20th and finished second. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won his second consecutive 250 West class race.
Geico Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., led the AMA 450ss class through turn one as he picked up the holeshot award. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi, of Apple Valley, Calif., and JGRMX/Yamaha/Toyota’s Josh Grant, of Riverside, Calif., followed in second and third respectively. Defending champion Reed started in 20th place after a first turn crash and Stewart was near the middle of the pack.
“I was somewhere in the top five off the start and someone took me out,” said Reed.
After two laps, Stewart made his way into fourth place, and by lap six his was in third place. By lap eight Stewart held down second place and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., was third. Out front, Windham was unable to hold off Stewart, who made the pass for the lead on lap 10.
“I didn’t get the greatest start,” said Stewart. “It was a freight train out front, but I was able to get around Windham (Kevin) and Ryan (Villopoto). I came up short on the triple jump and lost my back brake for a few laps.”
On lap 18 Reed moved into second place and chased down Windham on the last lap to finish second.
“I tried to play damage control tonight,” added Reed. “It was a super difficult track to pass on. We have the points lead now, so I am so excited. Our team has been working their butts off, and I am confident. I tried to be smart for 20 laps. I knew these guys would get tired, so I kept my head down and charged hard.”
Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ryan Morais, of Murrieta, Calif., jumped out of the gate to win the holeshot award in the AMA 250 West class main event. Following in second and third place were Geico Powersports Honda’s Dan Reardon, of Menifee, Calif., and Dungey respectively.
Dungey, who came into tonight’s race with the points lead, made his move around Reardon on lap two and set chase on Morais. At the start of lap four Dungey secured the lead and rode to victory and extended his points lead to six points. Morais finished second and his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki teammate Jake Weimer finished third.
“It was a great ride,” said Dungey. “I heard the fans every step of the way. The track played out really good for us. This is really enjoyable. We have a two-week break in the 250 West class, so we can go back and work hard and show up prepared for the next race.”
AMA 450 Class Results, Anaheim 2
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha
Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki
Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
AMA 450 Class Season Standings
Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Suzuki, 64
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 61
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 53
James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 52
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 48
Ivan Tedesco, Tallahasse, Fla., Honda, 47
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 43
Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 41
Mike Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Suzuki, 32
Davi Millsaps, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 31
250 Western Region Class Results, Anaheim 2
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda
Dan Reardon, Menifee, Calif., Honda
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Kawasaki
PJ Larsen, Stanley, N.C., Kawasaki
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM
250 Western Region Season Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 70
Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 64
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 63
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 50
Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda, 50
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 39
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 34
Ben Evans, Boise, Idaho, Honda, 31
Dan Reardon, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 28
PJ Larsen, Stanley, N.C., Kawasaki, 26
Tonight’s AMA Supercross class race will air on Sunday, January 18 at Noon EST on CBS Sports. The AMA Supercross Lites class race will air on SPEED Sunday, January 18 at 6:00 p.m. EST.

Comments are closed.