Mike Lafferty Race Report Rnd. #9 Nat.

Mike Lafferty Race Report Rnd. #9 Nat.

Enduro Series Clinton SC 8/31/03

Tension was high at the second to last rnd. Of the national Enduro series, as Mike Lafferty set out to clinch his sixth title.

The riders new it was going to be a long day as the temperature was near 80 by 9:00am along with very high humidity and nearly 90 mile?s of trail.

A 16mile open woods section would start the day and as always the contenders were easy to spot. Lafferty, Hawk and Raines (riding on Hawkins row with no timing equipment) came out quickest with one?s, while many others had two points.

Section two was another 16 miler, and once again Raines and Hawk carded one?s, Lafferty a two and the rest were three?s and up.

The first gas followed and by looking around the pits it was obvious that the heat was starting to take it?s toll. But the race must go on and a 18 mile test would take the riders in to gas two, as Raines came out with a two, Lafferty and Hawk had three?s, while Hawkins and Jenks continued their battle with four?s.

With two section?s left Lafferty and Hawk needed to get after Raines, but it was not to be, as Raines zeroed the next 14 mile piece, Lafferty and Hawk had two?s, Hawkins and Jenks slid in to three?s.

A eight mile A rider only section would finish it and to the surprise of many, Hawkins and Raines came in right together one point down, Lafferty would match but Hawk and Jenks slipped in at two.

Raines would claim the victory for the day but Lafferty would claim his sixth national enduro championship, tying Hawkins for third on the all time win list behind Bill Baird with seven and Dick Burleson with eight.

Mikes next race: Rnd. #10 of the Gncc series in Taylortown PA on 9/7/03

1) Jason Raines        YAM       5
2) Barry Hawk            YAM       8
3) Mike Lafferty        KTM       8
4) Robbie Jenks        YAM      12
5) Randy Hawkins     YAM       12
6) Jason Chancey      KTM      15
7) David Lykke           YAM      16
8) Steven Edmondson KTM     19
9) Allen Gravitt            KTM     20
10) Tommey Veator    KTM     21


Comments are closed.