KTM News:David Pearson Wins in Jericho



Jericho, UT – Red Bull KTM Factory Off-Road rider David Pearson picked up his third win of the season at the fourth round of the AMA National Hare and Hound Championship over the weekend.

Pearson had a decent start to the day as he sat in third position at the end of the start straight. As they entered the sand dunes he lost a position to Destry Abbott but quickly got it back as they leaped out of the dunes and toward the trees. Now just three miles into the race, he had caught up to the second place ride of Russ Pearson. He followed him for a mile until Russ Pearson made a mistake and the Red Bull KTM Factory rider was able to make a pass for the second position.

A couple miles farther and Pearson, the defending Hare and Hound Champion, had caught up within ten second of the current leader Josh Morros. “It was real dusty so I had to stay back and wait for him (Morros) to make a mistake,” commented Pearson. And sure enough, approximately one mile later Morros blew a turn and Pearson capitalized on the mistake gaining the lead.

Pearson held his lead eventually finishing 45 seconds ahead of the second place ride of Destry Abbott. Now four rounds into the series Pearson sits second in points, just 11 points shy of the lead. Pearson’s Red Bull KTM Off-Road Factory teammates David Kamo and Quinn Cody also put in remarkable rides to finish the day strong. Kamo finished in 5th position and now sits third in overall points while Cody, on one of his first races back since his injury at last year’s Baja event, finished 9th overall.

Next Event: Round 5 – Lucerne Valley, CA – April 27, 2008

Overall Results:

1. David Pearson – KTM

2. Destry Abbott

3. Russell Pearson

4. Joshua Morros

5. David Kamo – KTM

6. TJ Hannifin

7. Reece Honea – KTM

8. Ryan Kudla

9. Quinn Cody – KTM

10. Ryan Abbotoye

Overall Points Standings:

1. Destry Abbott – 101

2. David Pearson – 90

3. David Kamo – 76

4. Joshua Morros – 64

5. Ryan Kudla – 59

Comments are closed.