After a dominant performance in the first moto, Ken Roczen capped the day off with a second in moto two, giving him the day’s overall. Eli Tomac’s problems in the first moto put him too far back in results to be able to rebound for the overall win, but a win in moto two was still good enough to stay on the podium in second. The top three was rounded out by Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne, who found himself on the day’s overall podium for the first time this season. (For extended coverage of the 2019 Thunder Valley National MX, click here)

450 Moto 1

After a little bit of weather swept into the Lakewood, CO hillside, the track got a little bit muddier, the ruts got deeper and the conditions began to play more of a factor in the riders’ performances. Eli Tomac had his fair share of struggles throughout the race, coming from the back of the pack and even needing to stop for goggles at one point, all to eventually end up fifth for the moto. Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne grabbed the holeshot, but his lead was short lived as Ken Roczen made his way around him. The HRC/Honda rider didn’t just settle for the lead, though, as he went on to stretch out a massive lead and win the moto by over 35 seconds over Osborne in second and almost another 10 seconds back to Cooper Webb in third, who made his way up into the top three for the second time this season. Full results of the first 450 class moto are below. 

1 Ken Roczen
2 Zach Osborne
3 Cooper Webb
4 Jason Anderson
5 Eli Tomac
6 Dean Ferris
7 Blake Baggett
8 Marvin Musquin
9 Cole Seely
10 Justin Bogle
11 Justin Barcia
12 Justin Hill
13 Henry Miller
14 Todd Waters
15 Fredrik Noren
16 Jake Masterpool
17 Tyler Bowers
18 Lorenzo Locurcio
19 Ben LaMay
20 Taiki Koga
21 Toshiki Tomita
22 Brandan Leith
23 Derek Kelley
24 James Weeks
25 John Short
26 Derek Anderson
27 Bradley Lionnet
28 Dylan Merriam
29 Mitchell Gifford
30 Cody Cooper
31 Tyler Stepek
32 Dustin Winter
33 Mathias Jorgensen
34 Casey Brennan
35 Vann Martin
36 Todd Bannister
37 Chris Alldredge
38 Jeffrey Walker
39 Dare DeMartile
40 Joey Savatgy

450 Moto 2

Red Bull/KTM’s Cooper Webb jumped out to the early lead in moto two, grabbing the holeshot ahead of the rest of the roaring 450’s, but the momentum Ken Roczen was carrying in from moto one allowed him to snag the lead away from Webb. Behind them were battles between Marvin Musquin, Eli Tomac and Blake Baggett, with Tomac having the strongest of the three’s rides by maneuvering through and taking the moto win away from both Roczen and Webb. Tomac’s efforts of coming back from a disappointing fifth in moto one weren’t enough to capture the day’s overall, however, giving Ken Roczen that honor with his 1-2 moto scores. Here’s how the rest of the 450 field ended up:

1 Eli Tomac
2 Ken Roczen
3 Marvin Musquin
4 Zach Osborne
5 Jason Anderson
6 Justin Barcia
7 Blake Baggett
8 Cooper Webb
9 Dean Ferris
10 Justin Bogle
11 Justin Hill
12 Cole Seely
13 Fredrik Noren
14 Todd Waters
15 Lorenzo Locurcio
16 John Short
17 Ben LaMay
18 Toshiki Tomita
19 Tyler Bowers
20 Henry Miller
21 Derek Kelley
22 James Weeks
23 Bradley Lionnet
24 Mathias Jorgensen
25 Tyler Stepek
26 Dustin Winter
27 Derek Anderson
28 Mitchell Gifford
29 Cody Cooper
30 Dare DeMartile
31 Brandan Leith
32 Vann Martin
33 Casey Brennan
34 Colton Aeck
35 Jeffrey Walker
36 Todd Bannister
37 Joey Savatgy
38 Taiki Koga
39 Dylan Merriam
40 Jake Masterpool

450 Overall Results

1 Ken Roczen
2 Eli Tomac
3 Zach Osborne
4 Jason Anderson
5 Marvin Musquin
6 Cooper Webb
7 Blake Baggett
8 Dean Ferris
9 Justin Barcia
10 Justin Bogle
11 Cole Seely
12 Justin Hill
13 Fredrik Noren
14 Todd Waters
15 Lorenzo Locurcio
16 Henry Miller
17 Ben LaMay
18 Tyler Bowers
19 John Short
20 Jake Masterpool
21 Toshiki Tomita
22 Taiki Koga
23 Derek Kelley
24 James Weeks
25 Bradley Lionnet
26 Derek Anderson
27 Brandan Leith
28 Tyler Stepek
29 Mathias Jorgensen
30 Mitchell Gifford
31 Dustin Winter
32 Cody Cooper
33 Vann Martin
34 Casey Brennan
35 Dylan Merriam
36 Dare DeMartile
37 Todd Bannister
38 Jeffrey Walker
39 Joey Savatgy
40 Colton Aeck
41 Chris Alldredge

Comments are closed.