Grant Baylor Perfect At Cherokee National Enduro


Grant Baylor turned in a near-perfect performance at the Cherokee National Enduro this weekend, winning all seven tests en route to a decisive victory. After 93 miles of tight woods racing, the Tely Racing KTM rider took the overall victory by one-minute-twenty-three seconds ahead of second place.

“I still had a few mistakes, but overall the performance was a good one and I’m pleased with it,” said Grant. “I just seemed to click perfectly with the bike today. Wherever I pointed my tires the bike went, and everything just hooked up.”

Josh Toth, second overall. Photo Kenny King

Josh Toth was another rider having an exceptional day. The FMF KTM Factory rider equaled his career-best finish of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series with a second place, beating out Steward Baylor by 16 seconds.

Toth gained a few points on Steward  Baylor in the series standings, although Steward still holds a nine-point advantage over the Connecticut rider with five rounds to go. Steward rounded out the podium in third, despite dealing with an injured knee and a case of the flu this week.

Steward Baylor still holds the National Enduro Points lead after a third place finish. Photo Shan Moore

KR4 Husqvarna’s Cory Buttrick turned in his best performance of the season with a fourth place, missing the podium by just under a minute. Buttrick is one of the only Pro riders that does his own maintenance at the track.

Cory Buttrick, fourth overall. Photo Kenny King

SRT Racing’s Evan Smith rounded out the top five with a steady and nearly error-free day. Solid Performance KTM’s Ryder Lafferty finished sixth overall, which also gave him the win in the NE Pro2 class. Lafferty made the switch from a KTM 250F to a 350F for this race.

J.Toth, G.Baylor, and S. Baylor on the pro podium.

KR4 Husqvarna’s Tayla Jones edged Trail Jesters KTM Racing/Bonanza Plumbing’s Mackenzie Tricker by five seconds to win the Women’s Elite class. Jones won four tests, with Tricker winning two.



  1. Grant Baylor (KTM)
  2. Josh Toth (KTM)
  3. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  4. Cory Buttrick (Hsq)
  5. Evan Smith (Hsq)
  6. Ryder Lafferty (KTM)
  7. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
  8. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  9. Jake Froman (Hsq)
  10. Andrew DeLong (GG)

Comments are closed.