KR4 Arrive-n-Ride Husqvarna’s Grant Baylor turned up the heat in the final test of the day to capture a come-from-behind victory at this weekend’s Alligator National Enduro, round two of the 2017 Kenda AMA National Enduro Series presented by Moose Racing in Ormond Beach, Florida. The win made it two in a row for the Baylor family, as Grant’s big brother, Steward, won the opening round of the series last month in Sumter, South Carolina.

Grant came into the final test of the day sitting 12 seconds behind Steward. Test six would turn out to be the tightest test of the day, which played right into Grant’s wheelhouse. The South Carolina rider excels in the tight stuff, and he dominated the final test, putting him 15 seconds ahead of his brother at the end of the day for the overall win.

The win was a big relief for Grant since he had suffered a disappointing eighth at the opening round in Sumter.

“It feels great to get the win,” said Grant. “I’ve been struggling this year with injuries and I wasn’t at my best in Sumter, so it feels good to be running with these guys again. I rode pretty steady all day except for a big crash in test two. In the third test I got lost along with a few other riders, but luckily they threw the test out. I still would have finished second overall if they kept the test in. Steward had a pretty good lead on me going into the final test and he didn’t know they threw the third test out so I don’t think he pushed as hard as he could have. It was a really tight test and I knew I could make up a lot of time in there if I pushed, and that’s what I did. It came down to just a few second between me and Stew and I just happened to come out on top.”

Steward [Baylor] finished the event in second overall, which extended his lead in the championship standings. Cory Buttrick also benefitted from a strong ride in the final test and finished off the event in third. The SRT KTM rider said test six was one of the tightest he’s ever ridden. Fourth overall went to Solid Performance KTM’s Jesse Groemm. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Thad DuVall was fifth, five second behind Groemm and four seconds ahead of FMF KTM’s Kailub Russell. DuVall was in the running for the win early in the race, but dropped off the pace when the tests started getting tight.



  1. Grant Baylor (Hsq)
  2. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  3. Cory Buttrick (KTM)
  4. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
  5. Thad DuVall (Hsq)
  6. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  7. Josh Toth (Yam)
  8. Ricky Russell (Yam)
  9. Chris Bach (KTM)
  10. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

Comments are closed.