Grant Baylor Wins Grassman National Enduro

Story and Photos by Shan Moore

With the victory, Grant took control of the series point lead with four rounds remaining on the schedule.


Grant Baylor claimed his second win of the season with an impressive performance at this weekend’s rain-soaked Grassman National Enduro, round six of the Kenda AMA National Enduro Series in Chandlersville, Ohio. The REV Motorsports GasGas rider topped Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Craig DeLong by 51 seconds for the victory in an event that was shortened to five tests and 67 miles after off and on torrential rains muddied the hills and filled the creeks of the Chandlerville area.


Craig DeLong: “After the rain we got last night, it was not that bad until the last test and the skies opened up again, I had never ridden anything like that. “


Grant got off to a quick start by winning the first two tests, while DeLong put himself in good position after topping test number three. AmPro Yamaha’s Steward Baylor, who finished fourth, and fifth-place finisher FMF/KTM’s Josh Toth, won the final two tests. With the victory, Grant took control of the series point lead with four rounds remaining on the schedule, however, the South Carolina rider almost threw it all away in the final test of the day.


Bollinger: “I think I made a couple mistakes in the second test, but from there, we were pretty consistent. Luckily, it landed me on the box.”

DeLong’s Rockstar Energy Husqvarna teammate Trevor Bollinger rounded out the podium in his first race back since injuring his hand in June. Steward Baylor was fourth after struggling with bottlenecks and slower riders. Toth was in contention for a podium for most of the day, but made a costly mistake in the final test when he got off the trail and lost nearly a minute, eventually landing the KTM rider in fifth.

Ryder Lafferty came into the race with the series point lead, but a sixth-place finish dropped the Coastal Racing GasGas rider to second in points behind Grant, 141 points to 134. Coastal Racing GasGas’s Ricky Russell topped Beta USA’s Evan Smith by 15 seconds to secure seventh.


Steel City Honda-rider Ben Nelko won the NE Pro 2 class with a ninth overall finish


The Kenda AMA National Enduro Series resumes on September 18th for the Loose Moose National Enduro, round seven of the series in Marquette, Michigan. For more information go to


1. Grant Baylor (GG)

2. Craig DeLong (Hsq)

3. Trevor Bollinger (Hsq)

4. Steward Baylor (Yam)

5. Josh Toth (KTM)

6. Ryder Lafferty (GG)

7. Ricky Russell (GG)

8. Evan Smith (Bet)

9. Ben Nelko (Hon)

10. Thad DuVall (Hsq)

Comments are closed.