Johnny Girroir: “It feels incredible! I’ve had an uphill battle through the whole year with taking hit after hit, so this feels well overdue and I’m just so happy. The lines here were changing every lap, I got stuck a couple of times, but yeah just changed up my lines every lap and I’m so happy to come away with this win on such a gnarly day of racing.”


The Grand National Cross Country Series presented by Specialized, an AMA National Championship (GNCC Racing) saw completely different conditions on day two of the AMSOIL Hoosier event. The rain fell overnight causing muddy, slick conditions on Sunday morning, but as the sun came out throughout the afternoon hours the mud was becoming tacky for the afternoon racers.

When the XC1 Open Pro class took off it was Magna1 Motorsports/Husqvarna’s Jordan Ashburn earning the $250 All Balls Racing XC1 Holeshot Award. The battles were on throughout the duration of the race. Rocky Mountain ATV*MC/Tely Energy KTM’s Steward Baylor would hold the early lead, but Ashburn would take over the lead on lap three and hold it for the next couple of laps. Unfortunately, a mechanical issue would take him out of the running on the fourth lap.

Steward Baylor (Rocky Mountain ATV*MC/Tely Energy KTM) battled throughout the day in Indiana to earn second overall. Photo: Ken Hill


The FMF KTM Factory Racing Team had a great day at round six of the 2023 Grand National Cross Country Series, as class rookie Johnny Girroir took home his maiden XC1 Open Pro victory at the Hoosier GNCC. Finishing second overall was KTM-mounted Steward Baylor Jr with 2021 champion Ben Kelley posting a consistent ride amidst brutal track conditions, hovering around the top five before a mid-race charge saw the series points leader move into P3, where he would finish.  Weather made the event treacherous, a venue that is normally one of the most anticipated of the season. Girroir made steady progress onboard his KTM 350 XC-F as he picked his way through the field before taking the lead on lap seven in challenging conditions. From there, Girroir would stretch out a 17.261-second margin and cross the finish line in first position for his first XC1 Open Pro class win.

Ben Kelley: “Not a whole lot to say of today – rode well at times, rode like a rookie at times, made a few mistakes after grabbing a great start, but yeah, just a few too many mistakes today. Taking the positives from round six, happy to be on the box and appreciate all the work the FMF KTM Factory Racing Team put in.”


Mike Witkowski and Liam Draper of the XC2 class would finish an incredible third and fourth overall on the day.

It was a steady race for Craig DeLong under brutal conditions at Ironman Raceway’s Hoosier circuit. Ending the first lap in fifth place, DeLong climbed toP4 in the XC1 class on lap six,  where we would remain. His Crawfordsville ride sees him retain second in the overall standings, just five points from the lead.

Craig DeLong: “It was a tough day for me with too many mistakes early on. I got a decent start heading into the woods mid-pack, but it got away from me quickly with less than ideal, sticky mud weighing the bike down. I struggled, but learned from my mistakes.”


Earning fifth in XC1 at the sixth round was Babbitt’s Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Josh Strang. Strang would have his work cut out for him as he started back in seventh for the first half of the race. Strang would make his way to fifth on the sixth lap of the race and remain there for the remainder of the day.  After a great start to the day, AmPro Yamaha’s Ricky Russell found himself up in third and second for the first couple of laps. Unfortunately, right after the halfway point of the race Russell would fall back to sixth and remain there until the checkered flag flew.  Ashburn would suffer a mechanical issue after running at the front of the pack, and ultimately be scored seventh in the XC1 class, as Babbitt’s Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Grant Baylor was able to earn eighth in the XC1 class after only being able to battle for two laps in Indiana.


Michael Witkowski (center), Liam Draper (left) and Cody Barnes (right) rounded out the top three XC2 250 Pro finishers at round six. Witkowski and Draper ended up fourth and fifth overall!! Photo: Ken Hill


As the XC2 250 Pro line took off it was Liqui Moly Beta Factory Racing’s Jonathan Johnson grabbing the $250 XC2 Steel City Men’s Clinic Holeshot Award. It wouldn’t take long for Phoenix Racing Honda’s Michael Witkowski and AmPro Yamaha’s Liam Draper to get to the front of the pack and battle for that lead position. Witkowski would hold that number one spot on the opening lap, but Draper would soon make the pass for the lead and hold it for the majority of the race.

However, on the last lap of the race Witkowski would maneuver around Draper when a lapped rider was unable to get out of their way. Witkowski would cross the line .953 seconds ahead of Draper to earn his first XC2 win of the season. Draper would earn second on the day in Indiana. Phoenix Racing Honda’s Cody Barnes would round out the top three XC2 finishers as he made his way into third at the halfway point.


Rachael Archer (AmPro Yamaha) earned the WXC class win in the muddy morning race. Photo: Ken Hill


AMSOIL Hoosier Results and Points Standings
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Round 6 of 12
Sunday, May 7, 2023

XC1 Pro Event Results:

  1. Jonathan Girroir (KTM)
  2. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
  3. Benjamin Kelley (KTM)
  4. Craig DeLong (HQV)
  5. Josh Strang (KAW)
  6. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  7. Jordan Ashburn (HQV)
  8. Grant Baylor (KAW)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Ben Kelley (129)
  2. Craig DeLong (124)
  3. Steward Baylor (123)
  4. Ricky Russell (86)
  5. Grant Baylor (85)
  6. Jordan Ashburn (80)
  7. Josh Strang (79)
  8. Ruy Barbosa (71)
  9. Jonathan Girroir (69)
  10. Cody Barnes (65)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2023 National Champion.

XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Michael Witkowski (HON)
  2. Liam Draper (YAM)
  3. Cody Barnes (HON)
  4. Ruy Barbosa (HON)
  5. Ryder Lafferty (GAS)
  6. Jonathan Johnson (BET)
  7. Angus Riordan (KTM)
  8. Evan Smith (BET)
  9. Mason Semmens (KTM)
  10. Nathaniel Tasha (KTM)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Ruy Barbosa (129)
  2. Cody Barnes (116)
  3. Angus Riordan (113)
  4. Ryder Lafferty (112)
  5. Liam Draper (109)
  6. Mason Semmens (96)
  7. Michael Witkowski (91)
  8. Lyndon Snodgrass (83)
  9. Evan Smith (82)
  10. Jonathan Johnson (71)

Comments are closed.