Factory FMF/KTM Race Report – WORCS Round 5

Factory FMF/KTM Race Report – WORCS Round 5


Surprise, AZ – Factory FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown had an up and down weekend at the fifth round of the WORCS Series where he finished 2nd during Saturday’s moto but suffered a DNF on Sunday.


The former WORCS Champion showed he still has what it takes to battle with the best as he pulled the holeshot during Saturday’s moto and battled for the lead with Taylor Robert. The two swapped the lead back and forth multiple times creating a great race for the fans. With two laps to go a rock from the rear tire of Robert’s bike flew up and hit Brown in the lip. The rock cut a huge gash in Brown’s lip causing him to slow down in order to finish the race. Brown was able to hang on for a 2nd place ride and was immediately sent to the medic where he received 7 stitches to seal the wound.


Always a tough competitor, Brown returned to the line ready to start Sunday’s moto. He again pulled the holeshot and began a battle for the lead. On the third lap of the race, Brown suffered a technical issue which caused him to return to the pits for repair. His team worked hard to get the bike back in order but he lost a lap in the process and was unable to finish the race.


“Brown was really on his game this weekend and it showed with his speed and ability to run with Robert at Robert’s hometown race,” remarked Factory FMF/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen. “We are definitely disappointed that there was a technical difficulty that caused him to not finish the race and lose points toward the championship. We will do everything we can to make sure the situation is solved before the next race.”


Next Event: May 18-20, 2012 – Adelanto, CA


Overall Results –

  1. Taylor Robert

  2. Bobby Garrison

  3. Gary Sutherlin

  4. Robby Bell

  5. Mike Brown – KTM

  6. Justin Soule

  7. Ryan Abbatoye

  8. Destry Abbott

  9. Rhett Urseth

  10. Corey Floyd

  11. Josh Strang – KTM

  12. Deven Raper


Overall Point Standings –

  1. Taylor Robert – 221

  2. Mike Brown – 196

  3. Bobby Garrison – 190


Comments are closed.