Las Vegas, Nevada (July 5, 2008) The AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross Championship Series, presented by Lucas Oil, kicked off tonight in Las Vegas’ Orleans Arena to the amazement of an incredibly energized crowd.  With a field of explosive off-road riders that packed more bang than Las Vegas fireworks, the event produced some of the best racing action yet seen in this young sport.  Coming into the event, the buzz was all about whether KTM factory sensation, Taddy Blasuziak, could pull off another win here in Sin City.  Everybody would be shooting for the aggressive young rider from Poland, who just last November defeated “the Knighter”, David Knight, himself.

 The racing got started with the first of three Heats, where Nick Brozovich battled closely with both Blasuziak and Canada’s Bobby Prochnau.  After several aggressive attempts to get the lead by Blasuziak, he finally had to settle for a trip to the Semi, while the other two moved directly to the Main Event!  In Heat 2 it was youngster, Jamie Lanza pulling off the upset win over SX/MX veteran, Damon Huffman, while both moved to the Main.  Heat 3 saw two trials riders convincingly take the transfer spots; as 10X champ, Geoff Aaron won with a newfound speed that has many eyes on the veteran, while, Colton Haaker, put in a great ride to bring home second and the final transfer spot out of the Heats.

 There was some very intense racing in each of the Semi Races, which only transferred the winning rider.  In Semi 1, with a poor start and some bad luck early on, Blasuziak again fell one position short of transferring to the Main, as veteran Desert racer, Ty Davis, was able to hold on to the win.  Semi 2 went to current WORC’s point’s leader, Ricky Dietrich, as he was able to hold off a host of fast guys, such as Ryan Dudek and Homero Diaz.  In Semi 3, things really reached a feverish pitch, as veteran Destry Abbott and current Baja 1000 champ, Kendall Norman, battled to the final inch of the race; as both riders tangled and fell just feet from the finish line, both decided to try to run their bikes across the finish.  Abbott took the win by mere inches as the crowd went nuts for the incredible efforts both riders had put forth.  It’s apparent that EnduroCross brings out best in racers, because the stuff is not for the faint of heart!

 The Last Chance Qualifier presented by GEICO, was the race where the crowd was finally able to see international sensation, Blasuziak, claw his way into the Main Event.  Having ridden every possible lap on his quest to the Maxxis Main Event, the young pole took the final transfer position and finally transferred in.

 After the Dirt Rider Magazine Dash-for-Cash and the celebrated Baja Designs Night Race, the crowd was amped to the max and ready to see the top billing for the event… the Expert Main Event!  With 30 valuable championship points on the line, as well as the chance at an EnduroCross win, the riders blasted off the line in a flurry of dust and speed.  Getting the holeshot was Huffman, with a crowd of several riders hot on his rear-wheel, including Aaron, Davis, Brozovich, Dietrich, Prochnau and Blasuziak.  The glassy-smooth Aaron quickly took advantage of a slight miscue by the MX veteran, and moved into the lead as the other riders gave chase.  The crowd benefited as Blasuziak battled his way past several riders to move into second place on Lap 4 of 8, setting his sights on the speedy Aaron.  The two trial’s aces swapped the lead several times, as eventual winner, Blasuziak, was finally able to put a few seconds between them.  Dietrich followed in third, Brozovich in fourth, and Huffman in fifth.

 The word throughout the pits was that this was the most gruesome and difficult AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross yet, and the riders truly had their work cut out for them.  The Championship moves on to the Guthrie, Oklahoma next on August 16, and we will all be counting the days to see if Taddy can keep the ball rolling!

 EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of Off-Road racing into a supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole… and even a few special obstacles like giant tires!  Known as the “toughest racing on two wheels,” this indoor version of extreme off-road racing will keep you on your feet.  Don’t miss your chance to see AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross… get your tickets now for a round near you… and be sure to log-on to www.Versus.com for local airing dates/times for the Lucas Oil Motorsports Hour.

 AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross Championship Series

Results: Round One, Las Vegas; July 5, 2008


1.       Taddy Blasuziak

2.       Geoff Aaron

3.       Ricky Dietrich

4.       Nick Brozovich

5.       Damon Huffman

6.       Colton Haaker

7.       Ty Davis

8.       Jamie Lanza

9.       Kendall Norman

10.    Bobby Prochnau

11.    Phil Smage

12.    Destry Abbot

 AMA/Maxxis EnduroCross Championship Series presented by Lucas Oil /

AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships


·          *July 5; Las Vegas, NV – Orleans Arena

·          *August 16; Guthrie, OK – Lazy E Arena

·          *September 13; Florence, SC – Civic Center

·          *September 27; Denver, CO – National Western Complex

·          *October 4; Columbus, OH – Ohio State University, Schottenstein Center

·          *November 21; Las Vegas, NV – Orleans Arena

·          **November 22; Las Vegas, NV – Orleans Arena


*EXGC Regional Qualifier; **EXGC Finale

 For rules and race information visit www.EnduroCross.com or email [email protected].

For TV airing dates/times visit www.Versus.com.


Comments are closed.