This weekend, Detroit will host the second Triple Crown of the 2019 Monster Energy Supercross season. The Triple Crown format puts increased emphasis on qualifying times; if you don’t make the top 18, you advance to a LCQ, which is run before the evening show. Here’s how the rulebook reads:.

a.One Last Chance Qualifier will be run with 22 riders in the LCQ. In the Last Chance Qualifier, 1st through 4th will
advance to the main.
b. Three Main Events will be run with the same 22 riders. Each Main Event will count towards the overall standings.
c. The 450SX Main Events will be run in the following formats:
1. Main Event 1 – 8 minutes plus one lap – 22 riders.
2. Main Event 2 – 12 minutes plus one lap – 22 riders.
3. Main Event 3 – 12 minutes plus one lap – 22 riders.

For Triple Crown Format only:
1. Riders may use up to two motorcycles throughout the event.
2. Both motorcycles must have completed technical inspection and passed the sound test requirements.
3. During a race, the rider may NOT replace motorcycles after the start of the sighting lap on that specific race.
4. Motorcycles may be replaced in between races.
5. Riders or a team representative must notify a member of Race Direction
if a replacement motorcycle is being used.

It’s cold in Detroit and the soil used to build the track is moist. It’s already apparent that it will be a very rutty race. The track crew plans to use less soil stabilizing agent than in the past, so this may end up with a track that gets trickier as it deteriorates throughout the night. Here’s the Dunlop track reports with Broc Glover and Jim Holley.

Arlington was a race for the record books. Cooper Webb’s margin of victory – .028 seconds – was the narrowest on record (going back to 2003). To get there, he came through the pack and beat every rider that was expected to beat him in the title chase, ending with Ken Roczen. In a final corner pass, Webb pushed Roczen to the edge of the track, stood him up out of his rut, and forced a pass that put him a quarter of a wheel ahead at the finish line.

The 250 East continues to be a riding clinic hosted by Austin Forkner. Fastest in qualifying, winning heats and mains with relative ease, he’s the head of the class for sure. Otherwise, riders like Mitchell Oldenburg, Justin Cooper, Jordon Smith and Chase Sexton have put in some remarkable rides but they rarely get a whiff of Forkner’s exhaust.


25-Mar-17 Eli Tomac, Cortez
19-Mar-16 Jason Anderson
21-Mar-15 Eli Tomac, Cortez
15-Mar-14 James Stewart
25-Mar-17 Jordon Smith
19-Mar-16 Malcolm Stewart
21-Mar-15 Justin Bogle
15-Mar-14 Adam Cianciarulo


1 2 Cooper Webb Newport, NC 150
2 94 Ken Roczen Clermont, FL 148
3 25 Marvin Musquin Corona, CA 144
4 3 Eli Tomac Cortez, CO 134
5 15 Dean Wilson Clermont, FL 110
6 51 Justin Barcia Greenville, FL 104
7 4 Blake Baggett Grand Terrace, CA 101
8 14 Cole Seely Sherman Oaks, CA 94
9 22 Chad Reed Dade City, FL 93
10 7 Aaron Plessinger Hamilton, OH 93
11 10 Justin Brayton Mint Hill, NC 83
12 17 Joey Savatgy Tallahassee, FL 77
13 42 Vince Friese Cape Girardeau, MO 65
14 19 Justin Bogle Cushing, OK 63
15 46 Justin Hill Yoncalla, OR 49
16 1 Jason Anderson Rio Rancho, NM 46
17 43 Tyler Bowers Lake Elsinore, CA 42
18 11 Kyle Chisholm Valrico, FL 38
19 41 Ben Lamay Anchorage, AK 36
20 62 Alex Ray Milan, TN 29


1 24 Austin Forkner Richards, MO 52
2 32 Justin Cooper Huntington, NY 44
3 28 Jordon Smith Belmont, NC 42
4 23 Chase Sexton Clermont, FL 39
5 26 Alex Martin Clermont, FL 34
6 66 Mitchell Oldenburg Godley, TX 34
7 37 Kyle Cunningham Willow Park, TX 29
8 55 Kyle Peters Greensboro, NC 29
9 45 Brandon Hartranft Brick, NJ 29
10 73 Martin Davalos Tallahassee, FL 25
11 52 Jordan Bailey Orlando, FL 25
12 56 Lorenzo Locurcio Groveland, FL 20
13 70 Joshua Osby Valparaiso, IN 20
14 65 Anthony Rodriguez Tallahassee, Fl 12
15 112 Thomas Covington Murrieta, CA 12
16 81 Joshua Cartwright Tallahassee, FL 11
17 93 Blake Wharton Denton, TX 10
18 49 Henry Miller Rochester, MN 9
19 63 John Short Pilot Point, TX 8
20 285 Marshal Weltin Ubly, MI 6


Comments are closed.