Denver, CO. (October 3, 2015) – Denver, Colorado hosted round six of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series and Colton Haaker and Cody Webb had an epic battle for the win. Webb took the early lead and appeared to be well on the way to another win but Haaker slowly closed the gap and made the pass for the lead and win with just over three laps remaining. Webb held on for second and Taylor Robert took the final podium position.

Husqvarna’s Mike Brown took the first heat race win to get the night started and Beta’s Max Gerston and Ty Tremaine took the other two transfer spots.

Geoff Aaron, a long time Colorado resident, took a popular win in heat two. The night started badly for Haaker as he went down in the first turn and got run over by several riders. He got up slowly and then put on an epic charge to work his way to second to earn a transfer to the main event. Colorado’s Eric Rhoten transferred to the main with a third place finish.

Webb had a solid night to finish second and with bonus points for winning his heat and Hot Lap, only lost a single point to Haaker. Photo: Drew Ruiz
Webb had a solid night to finish second and with bonus points for winning his heat and Hot Lap, only lost a single point to Haaker. Photo: Drew Ruiz
Taylor Robert had another solid main event result to stand on the podium in third. Photo: Drew Ruiz

Webb took the win in heat three on his FMF/RPM team Maxxis KTM. Kyle Redmond and Noah Kepple took second and third.

The top two riders from each heat race compete in a timed Hot Lap for a single point and the top six gate picks for the main event. Webb was the last rider to go out and he managed to knock off Redmond for the fast time. Aaron rounded out the top three.

When the gate dropped for the main event, Haaker took the Nexen Tire Holeshot ahead Webb and Robert. Webb immediately put pressure on Haaker and the two battled closely for three and a half laps before Webb finally found a way by. Webb opened a small lead while Haaker started to battle back and forth with Robert. Those two exchanged second position several times before Haaker finally broke free and started closing back in on Webb. On lap 12, Webb slid out in a flat corner allowing Haaker pull alongside. The two entered the extremely difficult rock section together and Haaker managed to wrestle the lead away with three laps remaining.

At this point, Webb removed his goggles and appeared to go into survival mode, which allowed Haaker to open a small gap, which he held to take his second win of the season.

Robert rode a relatively lonely race the last several laps to take third, his third consecutive podium finish in three races back after missing the first part of the season due to injury.

Beta’s Redmond rode a solid race to take fourth and also move into fourth in the points. Aaron moved through the pack after a bad start to take fifth on his Gas Gas. Gerston was sixth on his Beta. Brown was disappointed to finish seventh. Nick Thompson finished eighth on a KTM. Rhoten was ninth on a Yamaha and Destry Abbott rounded out the top ten on his Kawasaki.

Ty Tremaine, Noah Kepple and Mitch Carvolth finished eleventh through thirteenth for the final three positions in the main.

“I had a nasty crash in my heat race and Cody has been so solid in the heats and hot laps so I have been losing points” Haaker said. “So I knew it was important to get the win in the main and gain a point for the night”.

“That was a long fifteen laps and I kind of pumped up” Webb said after the race. “It is hard to be up front for that long”.

“I had a real rough start to my night show and had to go to the LCQ” Robert said. “I almost pulled the holeshot from the outside, which was cool, and then Cody, Colton and I had a tight battle those first few laps but then the elevation and technical track got to me a little. But this is three podiums in three races back so I am pretty happy with that.”

Webb still holds a six point lead after Haaker gained a single point on the night after counting the bonus points Webb got for winning his heat race and setting the fast Hot Lap time. Brown fell further behind and is now twenty nine points back in third.

Denver, Colorado GEICO EnduroCross Main Event results
1.    Colton Haaker        Husqvarna
2.    Cody Webb        KTM
3.    Taylor Robert        KTM
4.    Kyle Redmond        Beta
5.    Geoff Aaron        Gas Gas
6.    Max Gerston        Beta
7.    Mike Brown        Husqvarna
8.    Nick Thompson        KTM
9.    Eric Rhoten        Yamaha
10.    Destry Abbott        Kawasaki


Comments are closed.