The eighth stage of the Rally Dakar ended on Monday with the second part of the marathon stage. The riders had to race through the stunning landscapes of the Altiplano plateau from Bolivia to Chile. The whole stage was held at an altitude of 3,500 metres, making it an enormous challenge for man and machine. The athletes half-circled and crossed the ‘Salar de Uyuni’, the biggest salt flat in the world. There were no major hurdles riding-wise, so it was mostly about keeping calm and collected and nurse the bike and tyres towards the bivouac.

The wait is over today for Yamaha Factory Racings Cyril Despres, the defending champion started third this morning on the 499km special, and was quick to catch Marc Coma before closing in on Joan Barreda as they tackled the route around the salt pans of Uyuni. Despres eventually arrived at the bivouac in Calama ahead of Barreda and in front of Marc 

Provisional result
Dakar 2014, Stage 8:
1. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) 05:23:20 hrs
2. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) +00:02:09
3. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:02:15
4. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +00:06:38
5. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +00:10:40
6. Michael Metge (FRA, Yamaha) +00:12:58
7. Riaan van Niekerk (ZAF, KTM) +00:13:15
8. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +00:13:23
9. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:13:29
10. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +00:13:34
13. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHL, Speedbrain) +00:14:51
20. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +00:32:09
26. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +00:35:47
37. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain) +00:41:59

Provisional overall standings:
1. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) 32:06:19 hrs
2. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) +00:38:08
3. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +01:27:22
4. Alain Duclos (FRA, Sherco) +01:49:09
5. Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHL, Speedbrain) +01:52:05
6. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +01:59:07
7. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +02:06:06
8. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +02:12:41
9. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +02:23:58
10. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +02:38:51
16. Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL, Speedbrain) +04:18:59
24. Pedro Oliveira (PRT, Speedbrain)+06:38:13
25. Paolo Ceci (ITA, Speedbrain) +06:40:20

Comments are closed.