Cyril Takes Second Stage Victory 

A great performance today by the Yamaha Factory Racing riders saw Cyril Despres take his second special stage victory of the 2014 Dakar Rally. Despres had moved into the lead of the special by the second checkpoint and moved into a neck and neck battle with Coma, managing the fastest time of the two to seal the win. The stage victory moves Despres from sixth up to fourth in the overall standings, just 14 minutes from second position with one 350km special stage left to run tomorrow, El Salvador to La Serena.

Bad luck for Joan Barreda

Joan Barreda has lost over two hours in Friday?s penultimate stage of the Rally Dakar. On his way from El Salvador to La Serena the Spaniard crashed hard in a wave section and severely damaged his bike. Barreda is not injured.

The Spaniard, who was lying second overall, went down after refuelling. He managed to nurse the bike to the finish line after stopping a few times for repair works by himself. In the overall classification Barreda dropped back to seventh place.

Today?s stage was surprisingly tough. The dunes were tricky and the heat challenged the athletes. Saturday brings the  final 500 kilometres of the race. The Dakar ends after 9,000 km in Valparaiso, Chile.

Provisional result

Dakar 2014, Stage 12:

1. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) 03:58:18

2. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) +00:02:17

3. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +00:05:53

4. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +00:07:21

5. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +00:09:10

6. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +00:09:52

7. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +00:10:45

8. David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +00:11:03

9. Ivan Jakes (SVK, KTM) +00:12:04

10. Javier Pizzolito (ARG, Honda) +00:12:49

Provisional overall standings:

1. Marc Coma (ESP, KTM) 52:40:16 hrs

2. Jordi Viladoms (ESP, KTM) +01:59:49

3. Olivier Pain (FRA, Yamaha) +02:10:16

4. Cyril Despres (FRA, Yamaha) +02:14:01

5. Helder Rodrigues (PRT, Honda) +02:20:39

6. Jakub Przygonski (POL, KTM) +02:27:23

7. Joan Barreda (ESP, Honda) +03:04:54

8. Daniel Gouet (CHL, Honda) +03:17:10

9. Stefan Svitko (SVK, KTM) +03:52:55

10. David Casteu (FRA, KTM) +04:01:42


Comments are closed.