Joan Barreda wins the tenth stage of the Dakar, from Cordoba-La Rioja with a special test of 357 km. With this, his fourth stage victory, the rider who hails from  Castellon, Spain, becomes the most honoured rider so far in the competition.  Barreda on his Husqvarna TE449RR by Speedbrain showed once again that not only did he have the speed but also the skill to dominate every type of terrain. Barreda, who started behind Despres this morning, eased his way through the course, catching up with Cyril Despres near the end of the special test.
Paulo Goncalves, took the podium in third 2’44” behind Barreda after having fought back from seventh position at this morning’s start-line.
Botturi, was unlucky with his seventh place finish after spending most of the special up in third position, but a fall hampered his progress and he dropped down to seventh, finishing 8’05” behind his winning team-mate.
However, Botturi remains in fifth overall place 24’25” behind leader Despres in the overall leader-board.
Tomorrow sees the much feared La Rioja – Fiambalà stage with some 483 km  special test and scorching temperatures expected. 
Joan Barreda : ”Today I’m really pleased with my fourth victory in this Dakar. I rode very well today, very cleanly and didn’t take any risks once the special got going. ”
Paulo Goncalves: ”I was ready to attack right from the word go, but I had a lot of trouble trying to get past Faria and Jakes. It was a great day nevertheless. It was a really enjoyable stage to ride, almost like an enduro course with all the different types of ground.
Alessandro Botturi: “I was in third place until halfway through the special, and I felt great, but then I hit a rock as I took a curve, lost my balance and fell. I hurt my pinky quite badly, I hope that it’s not broken. ”.
Tenth Stage Result
1. Joan Barreda (ESP, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain
2.Despres (F, KTM) at 1’15”
3.. Paulo Goncalves (PRT, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain) 2’44”
4. Pedrero (S, KTM) at 4’27”
5.Caselli ( USA, KTM) at 6’56”
7.Alessandro Botturi (ITA, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain) 8’05”
25. Bianchi Prata ( PRT, Husqvarna)  27’14”
29. Jordi Viladoms ( Spain, Husqvarna)
43. Alex Busquets (Spain, Husqvarna)
79. Fish (AUS, Husqvarna Rallye Team By Speedbrain)
Overall Standings After Ten Stages:
 1. . Despres (FRA, KTM )
2.Faria (P, KTM) 2) 1’37”
3.Lopez (Cile, KTM) 13’41”
4.Jakes (Slo,KTM) 18’21”
5.Alessandro Botturi (ITA, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain) 24’25”
17.Paulo Goncalves (PRT, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain) 1h29’57”
30.Joan Barreda (ESP, Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain) 3h11’40”

Comments are closed.