Costella and Blose the big winners at the seventh annual GEICO Powersports MiniMotoSX

Drew Gosellelaar leads an electric bike sweep of the podium in the history-making electric versus gas-powered dirt bike battle – the Energy Crisiscross

Las Vegas, NV (May 7, 2010) – Derek Costella, the Monster Energy backed BBR rider won the first ever World Final that combined all of the nights expert and youth class podium finishers with nine of the world’s top international mini bike racers. The win earned him the right to be recognized as the world’s best mini bike racer, a $3,000 check and a new car entertainment system compliments of Pioneer electronics.  Red Barron backed Michael Blose defended his title in the premier 12-inch expert class along with podium finishes in the 10-inch expert and World Final races.  Costella and Blose each collected over $6,000 each for their multiple podium finishes at the world’s largest mini bike race. 


The 10-inch expert class ended up being the race of the night as Derek Costella took the holeshot but was soon passed by Michael Blose and then defending champion Ryan Abrigo also made his way past. On the final lap, Costella re-took second place and then made a last turn pass on Blose to steal the win.  Abrigo held on for third.  However, the final results of this class are pending review. 

Michael Blose got revenge in the 12-inch expert class by defending his title on his Red Barron mini over French mini phenom, Mike Valade and Derek Costella. Valade worked his way up from a bad start for the impressive finish in a stacked class that included several past MMSX champions including Kyle Engle that finished 4th, David Pigngree 6th and Chris Gosselaar who finished 10th. 

Austin Politelli dominated the youth classes on his CHP backed mini by winning both the 10-inch and 12-inch classes. Logun Pickering and Killian Woder rounded out the podium in the 10-inch class while James Gardiner and Pickering shared the podium in the 12-inch class and they all earned a chance to race the top expert and international riders in the World Final race that wrapped up the evening. In the 12 years and under youth class, Robbie Wageman took the win over Carson Brown and Ryan Lazar.  

Erika Short defended her title in the women’s class over Tatum Sik and Jackie Ives.  Mike Reefman came all the way from Australia to take the win in the 35-plus vet class on his Pitster Pro mini over Matthew Skerret and Ricky Lee. 

Brandon Schreuder won the 10-inch amateur class over Devin Manahan and Kevin Popaeko.  Jimmy Peyras upheld French honor with a win in the 12-inch amateur class over Matthew Skerrett (who took two podium positions during the evening) and Austin Tessitore. 

Clint Johnson took the win in the 10-inch stock/mod class over Shea Koester and Joshua Sheffer.  Then Tiger Lacey, the long time Supercross racer made an aggressive pass to take the win in the 12-inch stock/mod class over Clint Johnson and Jay Maloney. 

In the much anticipated first ever AMA sanctioned electric versus gas powered race, dubbed the Energy Crisiscross, Drew Gosselaar led an electric bike sweep of the podium riding a Quantya ahead of Zero mounted Chris Dvoracek and fellow Zero rider and former World Motocross Champion Sebastian Tortelli. The electric bikes took the top six spots with Jay Maloney on a Kawasaki taking seventh ahead of Jimmy Lewis on a BBR Honda 150F.  The rules restrict the modifications to the gas powered bikes and require use of the stock frame, forks, cylinder, carburetor and engine cases and they proved to be outgunned by the electric bikes but it was still evidence that electric bike technology has come a long way. 

The final race of the night was the World Final, which combined the podium finishers in the youth and expert 10-inch and 12-inch classes with nine of the top international riders. Derek Costella, the winningest rider in MiniMotoSX history once again proved his skills on a mini bike by taking the win over France’s Mike Valade and Michael Blose to become the first ever World Final Champion.  Ryan Abrigo finished 4th ahead of fifteen year old Austin Politelli the evenings dominant youth rider. 

For rules and race information visit or email [email protected]
For TV airing dates/times visit

Comments are closed.