Story and photos by Shan Moore

Upton, WY, June 19, 2011 – Russell Bobbitt used a strong final push to take a come-from-behind win at round six of the Rekluse/AMA National Enduro Series in Upton, Wyoming.

Set in the high plains region of northeastern Wyoming, the Inyan Kara Enduro is one of the few western stops on the national enduro circuit, and it features trail that is more wide-open than what is normally found in the east. A relatively large group of western riders joined the eastern regulars to make up a strong field for the six-test, 78-mile race, and midway into the action it was Bobbitt’s FMF/KTM teammate Charlie Mullins with the early lead, holding a 23-second advantage over Bobbitt heading into test five.

Bobbitt managed to trim 12 seconds off Mullins’ lead in the ultra long fifth test, and trailed by only 11 seconds heading into the sixth and final test. The final few miles of the course consisted of a long and deep rock-infested ravine, which Bobbitt found to his liking and the three-time champ managed to pick up 26 second on Mullins in this section, giving Bobbitt the win by 15 seconds. The win was Bobbitt’s fourth of the year and it moved him back into the lead in the championship standings by 2 points over Mullins.

“Charlie was going great all day but I just felt really good in that final test and I just clicked it up a notch,” said Bobbitt. “That section was the most technical of the day and I just felt I could ride harder in it. It was a really fun section and a lot of people watching and I just got in a groove.”

Thad DuVall was in the mix until losing his rear brakes in the final test. The Am-Pro Yamaha rider still managed to finish third for his first podium of the year. Meanwhile, FMF/KTM’s Cory Buttrick finished a strong fourth, edging eight-time champ Michael Lafferty by 13 seconds.

Lafferty’s factory Husaberg teammate Nick Fahringer was sixth, while KTM rider Shane Hufford Jr. and Gas Gas Offroad’s Cole Kirkpatrick rounded out the top eight.

The Inyan Kara event featured the first running of the Air Group/LeoVince Fantasy Team Competition, where 10 teams of four riders competed for an $800 top prize. Each team featured a Pro rider, two “A” riders and one “B” rider and the lowest combine team score wins. Thad DuVall, Chase Bishop, Daniel Abney and Cameron Allen made up the winning team in Wyoming.

Comments are closed.