Brad Lackey will be honored with Edison Dye Motocross Lifetime Achievement Award at event benefitting Spinal Cord Injury Research and the Reeve-Irvine Research Center

FULLERTON, CALIF. (October 28th, 2008) – This friday night October 31st, will celebrate the Legends of Motocross at the first annual “Monsters of Motocross Presented By Lucas Oil” event taking place at the California Theatre in San Bernardino. This event coincides with the MTA Vet World Championships at Glen Helen raceway taking place on

November 1-2.
Last year on the same weekend, the lost documentary “One Chance to Win” (OCTW) was premiered to wide acclaim. For 2008, 7-Time National Champion Bob “Hurricane” Hannah has agreed to emcee the event and have some fun with his fellow competitors. Along with “Motocross Files” Producer Todd Huffman, the two have come up with a hilarious short spoof on OCTW called “No Chance to Win”.

Another film inspired by Motocross Action Magazine’s Jody Weisel honoring those Motocross Legends that have passed on will be screened as well.

This will lead up to the honoring of “Bad Brad” Lackey receiving the Edison Dye Motocross Lifetime Achievement Award for his long career culminating with Brad being America’s first World Champion in 1982. A film produced by The Motocross Files will be debuted chronicling Brad’s 1982 Championship season.

“This event is really turning out to be very special and a lot of fun. Many people are putting in a lot of effort to put this on and build it for the future. Attendees are going to have a lot of laughs and a very special, good time.” Said Todd Huffman, Producer of “The Motocross Files” on Speed and of the event.

“We understand the event is on Halloween and some folks with young families may not be able to attend, but we want to develop this important event around the MTA Vet Worlds at Glen Helen and it just happens to fall on this weekend”. Huffman added.

The list of confirmed motocross legends includes: Bob Hannah, Brad Lackey, Malcolm

Smith Tommy Croft, Ron Lechien, Rick Johnson, Marty Smith, Marty Tripes, Steve Stackable, Mike Bell, Rex Staten, Torlief Hansen, Gary Jones, David Bailey, Tony DiStefano, Jim Holley, Donnie Hansen, Danny LaPorte, Steve Wise, Steve Bauer, Billy Payne, Dwayne Jones, Larry Huffman, Chuck Sun, Dave Ekins, Barry Higgins, Keith McCarty, Dave Arnold, Roy Turner, Brian Lunniss, Steve Staseivski, Norma Bigelow and more.

Proceeds from the evening will support efforts in spinal cord research at the Reeve-Irvine Research Center.

The event is open to the public and tickets are $25.00 each or $40.00 for (2) and are available online at, Malcolm Smith Motorsports, Troy Lee Designs, at select Cycle Gear locations and at the California Theatre box office. Tickets will be available that night but may be limited.

The doors will open at 5:30pm and the program begins at 7:30pm. Producers encourage people to show up early for autographs and mingling with their motocross heroes.

The California Theatre is located at:

562 W. 4th St.

San Bernardino, CA 92401

(909) 386-7361

The Monsters of Motocross is sponsored by: Lucas Oil Products, Kawasaki, Scott USA, Leatt Brace, Honda of Houston, Mechanix Wear, Sunline, SixSixOne, Filtron, Tag Metals, Hannah Racing Products, Badco, United Sourcing, MSR, Monster Energy, O’Neal, Metro Racing, ASV, Universal, Michael’s Action Art, Troy Lee Designs,, Fox Racing, QAV Productions, Vintage Iron, Highway 12 Winery, Glen Helen Raceway and Resource Marketing.

Comments are closed.