Baylor Tops Cajun Classic National Enduro


Baylor Tops Cajun Classic National Enduro


Forest Hill, LA, (May 6, 2012) – Steward Baylor continues to gather momentum in the AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series, taking his fourth win of the season under extremely hot and humid conditions at this weekend’s Cajun Classic National Enduro near Forest Hill, Louisiana.


The Dirt Racer/WP Racing USA-backed Baylor kicked off the six-test, 73-mile race by posting the fastest time in the opening test; topping New Jersey KTM rider Jesse Groemm and eight-time national champ Michael Lafferty in the fast and flowing 10-mile section. Unlike in Tennessee, however, where Baylor swept all six tests, the South Carolina native had to work for his win in Louisiana, as Lafferty claimed the fastest times in both the second and fourth tests. In fact, Lafferty held the overall lead heading into the fifth test; but Baylor poured it on over the final two sections to take the win by a 33-second margin over Lafferty.


Consistency was the key to Lafferty’s runner-up finish, as he was either first or second in every test except for the opening one, where he was third. The Husaberg rider now sits second overall in the series standings, 32-points behind Baylor. 


FAR Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong claimed his first-ever podium in national enduro competition by taking third, holding off a late charge by Groemm to do so.


Groemm also claimed a personal best with a fourth, just four seconds ahead of defending series champ Russell Bobbitt, who picked up in the later stages of the race after struggling during the early going.


Airgroup Radiant Racing’s rider Shane Hufford edged factory Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer for sixth, while Obermeyer Yamaha/Raines Riding University/’s Brad Bakken beat out Am Pro/FMF Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn for eighth.


Texas rider Cole Kirkpatrick rounded out the top 10 on a KTM. 


The AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series takes a six-week break before returning to action on June 17 in Upton, Wyoming, for round six of the series. For more information go to



1. Steward Baylor (KTM)

2. Michael Lafferty (Hsb)

3. Andrew DeLong (Hsq)

4. Jesse Groem (KTM)

5. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

6. Shane Hufford (Hsb)

7. Nick Fahringer (Hsb)

8. Brad Bakken (Yam)

9. Jordan Ashburn (Yam)

10. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)


Comments are closed.