At the biggest race of the season, the Yamaha Loretta Lynn’s GNCC at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee, Barry Hawk overcame a first-turn crash to catch and pass the entire field and win his second race of the season. KTM’s Mike Lafferty gave Hawk everything he could handle on the last lap, sticking to Hawk’s fender the entire circuit and entering the famous Loretta’s motocross track side-by-side with him. After battling back and forth on the motocross track after three hours of woods racing, Lafferty came up just short at the finish. ‘I probably could have taken him down there, but I didn’t want to do that,’ said Lafferty of his strategy on the motocross track. ‘We had a good fair race, that’s the way they all should be.’

FMF Suzuki’s Mike Kiedrowski was third. Kiedrowski, a former winner at Loretta’s during the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships, led several miles of the event before making a few mistakes late in the game and yielding to Lafferty and Hawk. Hawk’s Am-Pro Yamaha teammate Jason Raines fought through an overheated rear brake to claim fourth, and defending AMA National Hare Scrambles Champion Fred Andrews was fifth.

Over 1300 riders competed in the event over the weekend, and they were all greeted by great weather, a rugged, whooped-out track, and great accomidations at the Ranch. And for the first time ever, Loretta Lynn herself made a guest appearance and thanked the racers for coming.

The event was run in conjunction with the AMA National Hare Scrambles Series and was co-sanctioned by SETRA, the Southeastern Enduro and Trail Riders Association.

Loretta Lynn’s GNCC
Hurricane Mills, Tennessee
April 27, 2003 (Round 5 of 13)

Overall: 1. Barry Hawk (Yam); 2. Mike Lafferty (Ktm); 3. Mike Kiedrowski (Suz); 4. Jason Raines (Yam); 5. Fred Andrews (Kaw); 6. Joshua McLevy (Yam); 7. Robbie Jenks (Yam); 8. Brian Garrahan (Ktm); 9. Randy Hawkins (Yam); 10. Joshua Summey.

AMA Grand National Cross Country Series Points Standings (After 5 of 13 rounds): 1. Barry Hawk, Jr. (126/2 wins); 2. Jason Raines (100); 3. Michael Lafferty (89/1 win); 4. Robbie Jenks (79); 5. Fred Andrews (76/1 win); 6. Rodney Smith (72/1 win); 7. Randy Hawkins (52); 8. Steve Hatch (51); 9. Josh McLevy (42); 10. Mike Kiedrowski (42).


Comments are closed.