Stewart Wins Second of the Year at Honda Hangtown Motocross Classic


Villopoto Grabs AMA Motocross Lites Win


SACRAMENTO, Calif. (June 1, 2008) – After a dominating opening round, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., made it two for two at the Honda Hangtown Motocross Classic Presented by Jackson Rancheria Hotel & Casino, round two of the 2008 Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of , picked up his first win of the season in AMA Motocross Lites.

After earning the Holeshot Award in the first moto, Stewart quickly pulled away to the victory while a stellar battle ensued behind him. Privateer rider Steve Boniface, of , , put in an outstanding effort, staying within the top five for most of the moto while Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tim Ferry, of , , and Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps, of , battled it out for second with Ferry gaining the edge.


In the final moto, Millsaps capitalized on a stellar run out of the gates to take the Holeshot Award and despite getting passed by Stewart just a few turns later, made a great move to get back past the rider. Just a short time later, Stewart reclaimed the point and cruised to a 1-1 moto finish on the day. Ferry grinded his way through traffic to second place and a 2-2 finish, good for second overall. Red Bull Honda’s Ivan Tedesco, of , rode a strong second moto to bring home a 4-3 and round out the podium in third.

“It felt good,” said Stewart said of the win. “I felt really good today. I was just trying to keep solid lap times, racing the pit board and just doing my thing. We practice that so much during the week trying to get ready for the weekend. The track was really tough today. It was hard to get a bike setup. We’ve been working really hard and its showing. The fans were great out there, they’re really showing the love and I think that will continue for the rest of the season.”


In the AMA Lites class, Villopoto was virtually unbeatable and was not passed for the lead throughout the 34 laps of action. He grabbed the Holeshot Award in both motos en route to a sweep of the overall.

“Three races in a row, I’d like to keep it going and get the points (advantage) a little bigger,” said Villopoto. “I definitely want to finish my last season in the Lites division and win three (championships) in a row. (My competitors) are going fast and it’s just going to take doing the work during the week to stay ahead of them. The track was pretty rough and the warm weather really separated the riders.”


Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle , improved on his solid efforts last weekend to finish in the runner-up position overall with a 2-3 moto finish. Boost Mobile Yamaha of Troy’s Jason Lawrence, of , rounded out the top three overall after fifth and second place finishes in the motos.

Stewart currently holds a 20-point lead in the over teammate Ferry in the AMA Motocross standings while Villopoto has a nine-point advantage over Dungey in AMA Motocross Lites.


The AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF makes its way to the next weekend for the Monster Energy Freestone Motocross National Presented by Yamaha, Kicker Audio, and Berkey’s Plumbing from Freestone County Raceway in

AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Presented by FMF

Honda Hangtown Motocross Classic

Prairie City SVRA –

June 1, 2008

Round 2 of 12


Motocross (Moto Finish)

  1. James Stewart, , , , 1-1

  2. Timmy Ferry, , , , 2-2

  3. Ivan Tedesco, , Honda, 4-3

  4. Davi Millsaps, , Honda, 3-5

  5. Steve Boniface, , Honda, 6-6

  6. Ben Townley, , Honda, 8-7

  7. Mike Alessi, , Suzuki, 16-4

  8. Michael Byrne, Newman, Geo., Suzuki, 9-10

  9. Josh Hill, , Yamaha, 11-9

  10. Andrew Short, , Honda, 14-8


Motocross Class Point Standings

  1. James Stewart, , , , 100

  2. Timmy Ferry, , , , 80

  3. Davi Millsaps, , Honda, 76

  4. Ivan Tedesco, , Honda, 68

  5. Mike Alessi, , Suzuki, 67

  6. Steve Boniface, , Honda, 49

  7. Michael Byrne, Newman, Geo., Suzuki, 49

  8. Ben Townley, , Honda, 42

  9. Jeff Alessi, , Honda, 40

  10. Nick Wey, , KTM, 40


Motocross Lites (Moto Finish)

  1. Ryan Villopoto, , , , 1-1

  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle , Suzuki, 2-3

  3. Jason Lawrence, , Yamaha, 5-2

  4. Austin Stroupe, , , , 3-4

  5. Brett Metcalfe, , , , 4-5

  6. Trey Canard, , Honda, 11-6

  7. Jake Weimer, , Honda, 7-10

  8. Branden Jesseman, , , , 6-12

  9. Ryan Sipes, , KTM, 12-7

  10. Dan Reardon, , Honda, 15-8


Motocross Lites Point Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto, , , , 91

  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle , Suzuki, 82

  3. Austin Stroupe, , , , 80

  4. Jason Lawrence, , Yamaha, 79

  5. Brett Metcalfe, , , , 72

  6. Jake Weimer, , Honda, 53

  7. Trey Canard, , Honda, 47

  8. Kyle Cunningham, , Honda, 40

  9. Branden Jesseman, , , , 36

  10. Broc Tickle, , Yamaha, 32