AMA Monster Supercross Results: Seatte Surpirses

It’s Windham And Lawrence In Seattle

Torco Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., won his second consecutive Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship race in front of 48,328 fans at Qwest Field. Yamaha of Troy’s Jason Lawrence, of Carlsbad, Calif., won the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class championship. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won the main event and finished second overall in the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class.

Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short, of Smithville, Texas, won the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award to start the AMA Supercross class main event, but Windham quickly passed him and moved into the lead. Team San Manuel Yamaha’s Chad Reed, who came into tonight’s race  13 points ahead of Windham, crashed in turn one and started the race in last place.

On lap 2, while leading, Windham suffered a mechanical malfunction when a banner got tied up in his back wheel. He stopped his bike and removed the banner from the rear wheel, dropping back to sixth place. Windham charged back through the field and re-captured the lead on lap 17. Reed charged his way to second place with a last-lap pass on Short.

“In the first turn, I crashed into the back wheel of Davi Millsaps’ bike and fell down,” said Reed. “When I was coming through the pack, I saw a bunch of Honda bikes and knew I was outnumbered, but I made the pass.”

“I rode great tonight,” said Windham. “I wish I came away with more points, but that’s how it goes. I am excited to go to Las Vegas next week. It’s going to be a great race.”

In the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race, Team Solitaire’s Bobby Kiniry, of Lafayette, N.Y., won the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award. Dungey followed closely in second while Lawrence, who came into tonight’s race with a six-point lead over Dungey, started in fourth place.

While Dungey pulled away from the field, Lawrence moved into second place and rode to the first AMA Supercross Lites championship of his career. Yamaha’s Broc Hepler, of Kittanning, Pa., finished in third place. The win for Dungey was his third of the season.

“Once I settled into second place, I was really nervous,” said Lawrence. “I just wanted to keep it on two wheels and ride a smart race. I was really comfortable when my Yamaha teammate Broc Hepler was behind me.”

“I was really happy with the way I rode tonight,” said Dungey. “I know where I made some mistakes this year, and I am going to fix them. I learned a lot this year.

Tonight’s AMA Supercross will air on SPEED Sunday, April 27 at 6:00 p.m., and the AMA Supercross Lites class race will air on SPEED Saturday May 3 at 3:00 p.m. EST.

AMA Supercross Class Results, Seattle
Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda
Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suziki
Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 340
Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 330
Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 262
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 261
Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 210
Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 206
Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 173
David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 158
Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM, 144
Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Honda, 136 

AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, Seattle
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha
Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda
Michael Willard, Thornville, Ohio, Honda
Justin Keeney, Riverside, Calif., Honda

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
ason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 157
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 154
Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 131
Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 126
Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 117
Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 100
Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 95
Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 79
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 73
Robert Kiniry, LaFayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 72 

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Honda, 147
Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 137
Nico Izzi, Saint Clair., Mich., Suzuki, 99
Branden Jesseman, New Brighton, Pa., Kawasaki, 94
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 91
Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Yamaha, 86
Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 84
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ken., KTM, 84
Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., KTM, 73
Billy Payne, Simi Valley, Calif., Honda, 71 

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge
Collin Blakita, Ypsilanti, Mich., KTM
Ethan Wolfe, Roseville, Calif., KTM
Levi Tenkley, Everson, Wash., KTM
Tyce Cappello, Red Bluff, Calif., KTM
Ryan Washburn, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
Caleb Parker, Grants Pass, Ore., KTM
Kylar Ulibarri, Vancouver, Wash., KTM
Ethan Duer, Silverdale, Wash., KTM
Tysen Travis, Olympia, Wash., KTM
Cody Taylor, Tenino, Wash., KTM
Kyle Cormican, Brush Prairie, Wash., KTM
Destry Hergent, Tukwila, Wash., KTM

The final Monster Energy® Supercross race takes place at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium next Saturday, May 3.

For more information on the Monster Energy® AMA Supercross an FIM World Championship please log on to

Comments are closed.