AMA announces final teams for 2009 International Six Days Enduro


Timmy Weigand to replace injured Nathan Woods on Trophy Team

Women’s Trophy Team, Junior Trophy Team and club team members announced

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) is pleased to announce the rosters for the U.S. Women’s Trophy Team, the U.S. Junior Trophy Team and the members of the U.S. club teams that will carry the banner for American off-road racing honor at the 2009 International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) in Figueria da Foz, Portugal, Oct. 12-17.

In addition, Timmy Weigand will replace the injured Nathan Woods on the U.S. World Trophy Team, which will contest the World Trophy Team Championship. Woods was injured while competing in Round 6 of the World Off-Road Championship Series (WORCS).

‘We’re thrilled that these world-class riders are joining the ISDE effort as part of Team USA,’ said AMA President and CEO Rob Dingman. ‘Campaigning the ISDE takes skill and dedication. It’s not only six days of the toughest motorcycle racing on the planet, but months of preparation to get there. The AMA members who have stepped up to race for America at the 85th ISDE rank among this country’s most-talented riders and we look forward to supporting them in Portugal this October.

‘We’re also happy to welcome Timmy Weigand to the U.S. World Trophy Team and wish Nathan a speedy recovery,’ Dingman added.

Weigand, who will be representing the United States at the ISDE for the first time, rides for Johnny Campbell Racing, primarily in the AMA-sanctioned World Off-Road Championship Series. The other members of the U.S. World Trophy Team, which was announced in March, include Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli, Ricky Dietrich, Jimmy Jarrett and Nathan Kanney.

‘Kurt called me a week and a half ago and said I was in the running, then Johnny (Campbell) called me the next day and said I was selected and that he would be fully supporting me,’ Weigand said. ‘This is going to be a lot of hard work, but a great experience and a great time. The team is solid. We got a podium last year, and we hope to do better than that. I’m the new guy, but hopefully I can ride smart. I have some good teachers in Kurt and Johnny.’

Weigand says the focus right now is getting the bike ready to ship to Portugal.

‘I’ll be riding a Honda CRF250 in the E1 class,’ he said. ‘Right now it’s a mad dash to get it ready. The bike has to be on the container in Portland in two weeks. As for setup, we’re definitely going for reliability. The bike is going to be pretty much stock so it can last the entire six days without a ton of work. I’m just happy to be going. It’s great to ride for your country at a major event like the ISDE.’

The U.S. Junior Trophy Team fields four riders 23 years old or younger. Led by five-time ISDE veteran Team Captain David Kamo, the Junior Trophy Team also will include defending AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Champion Russell Bobbitt, Grand National Cross Country racer Cory Buttrick and WORCS racer Jamie Lanza.

‘We have the team we wanted to have,’ said Kamo, who’s currently leading the points for the 2009 AMA Racing National Hare & Hound Championship. ‘It’s a strong team. We have an enduro racer, a WORCS racer, a GNCC racer and a desert racer. Russell is super fast, Jamie will never give up, and Cory, as well as he’s going in the GNCCs this year, he deserves to be there. As for me, I’m just happy to be on the team and, honestly, I hope those guys ride so well that I’m our drop-out rider. If I’m the drop-out rider, that just means everyone else is riding strong.’

Current plans call for Lanza to race the E1 class, which features 100cc to 125cc two-stroke and 175cc to 250cc four-stroke motorcycles; Bobbitt and Buttrick to race the E2 class, which features 175cc to 250cc two-stroke and 290cc to 450cc four-stroke motorcycles; and Kamo to ride the E3 class, which features 290cc to 500cc two-stroke and 475cc to 650cc four-stroke motorcycles.

The U.S. Women’s Trophy Team finished second in Greece last year to the French team, a year after winning the Women’s World Cup in Chile. The team will include veterans Maria Forsberg, Mandi Mastin and Lacy Jones.

‘I am extremely excited to be going to Portugal this year representing the United States Women’s Trophy Team,’ Mastin said. ‘This will be the eighth ISDE that I have competed in and the third since the Women’s World Team was created. I consider it a great honor to be involved in the race and look forward to going to Portugal healthy and ready to bring home the trophy again this year. Maria proved last year in Greece that she has what it takes to compete with some of the fastest women in the world, and Lacy is also a returning member to the team with two ISDE experiences. The three of us plan on working as hard as we can to win the Women’s World Trophy again this year.’

While the Trophy Team, the Women’s Trophy Team and the Junior Trophy Team are a critical piece of the U.S. effort, they are a small part of the entire U.S. contingent that makes the trek to the annual event. Dozens of club team riders will also represent the U.S. at the 2009 ISDE.

The following riders were selected as club team members: Toby Atkins, David Booth, Jordan Brandt, Joel Burkett, Billy Burns, Nick Fahringer, Jeff Fredette, Don Grahn, Nick Hamill, Fred Hoess, Zach Lipana, Brent Martell, Garrett Mayer, Shawn O’Leary, Ryan Powell, Ben Smith, Brian Sperle, Rory Sullivan, Troy Swettenam, Lars Valin and Chilly White.

America’s motorcyclists can help support Team USA, and looking good while doing it, by buying an official Team USA ISDE T-Shirt. All proceeds support the massive effort to transport the riders, bikes and crew to and from Portugal. To buy a shirt, just visit, click on Gear, then select Apparel.

For more information on the ISDE and Team USA, please see

Destry Abbott
Kurt Caselli
Ricky Dietrich
James Jarrett
Nathan Kanney
Timmy Weigand

Russell Bobbitt
David Kamo
Jamie Lanza
Cory Buttrick

Lacy Jones
Mandi Mastin
Maria Forsberg

JAFMAR RACING (Laura Claypoole, manager)
Jeff Fredette
Chilly White           
Don Grahn
MISSOURI MUDDERS (Jay Hall, manager)
Lars Valin
Toby Atkins        
Billy Burns
TONY AGONIS (Bob Agonis, manager)
Fred Hoess
Nick Fahringer
Ben Smith

Shawn O’Leary
Joel Burkett
Nick Hamill

GO FASTERS.COM (Steve Berkner, manager)
Brian Sperle
Ryan Powell
Jordan Brandt
Rory Sullivan
Troy Swettenam
Zach Lipana
Brent Martell
David Booth
Garrett Mayer

Comments are closed.