Adam Cianciarulo and Justin Barcia rolled into St. Louis for round two of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season with momentum from A1. For Cianciarulo, Anaheim vindicated the preseason hype surrounding him. For Barcia he had to prove Anaheim wasn’t a fluke. After both qualifying sessions, the top three were exactly the same as they were in Anaheim, with Cianciarulo on top of Eli Tomac and Jason Anderson. Ken Roczen and Barcia were a second back, setting the stage for another brawl. For extended coverage of the 2020 St. Louis Supercross click here.


Ken Roczen got the start, but Vince Friese got under him in the first turn. It took a lap, but Roczen retook the lead. Cooper Webb and Eli Tomac weren’t far back, but it was Malcolm Stewart who was making the best moves early in the race. He passed Tomac, Webb and Friese in one lap, but by then, Roczen had a decent lead. As time began to get short, Tomac moved into third and then repassed Mookie for second. Webb  had his hands full holding off Blake Baggett with Friese falling back to seventh, while Dean Wilson, Chris Blose and Chad Reed were fighting over the final transfer spot. Roczen won with a 6-second lead over Tomac, while Chad Reed had to go to the LCQ.

1 Ken Roczen
2 Eli Tomac
3 Malcolm Stewart
4 Cooper Webb
5 Blake Baggett
6 Benny Bloss
7 Vince Friese
8 Dean Wilson
9 Chris Blose
10 Chad Reed
11 Kyle Cunningham
12 Joshua Cartwright
13 Dustin Winter
14 Aj Catanzaro
15 Joel Wightman
16 Curren Thurman
17 Alex Ray
18 Scotty Wennerstrom
19 Alexander Nagy
20 Cade Clason

450 HEAT 2

The holeshot went to Zach Osborne, but it was Justin Bogle who took over quickly. Adam Cianciarulo was third at the end of the first lap while Justin Barcia was back in 10th  behind his teammate Aaron Plessinger. At first it seemed like neither Osborne nor Cianciarulo could do anything with Bogle, but then Bogle went down on lap three. That put Osborne in front with Cianciarulo, Martin Davalos and Jason Anderson following. Barcia was soon up to seventh, working on Justin Hill. Cianciarulo took the lead around the halfway point. In the final laps, Justin Brayton rolled to a stop and had to  walk back to the pits. With two laps to go, Barcia moved up to third after Anderson blew a turn.  Likewise, Davalos moved up but Anderson held on to  fourth. Cianciarulo won, looking much smoother in the late laps and Justin Bogle moved up into the final transfer spot on the last lap.

1 Adam Cianciarulo
2 Zach Osborne
3 Justin Barcia
4 Martin Davalos
5 Jason Anderson
6 Justin Hill
7 Aaron Plessinger
8 James Decotis
9 Justin Bogle
10 Dylan Merriam
11 Jared Lesher
12 Joan Cros
13 Daniel Herrlein
14 Colton Aeck
15 Austin Politelli
16 Cody Vanbuskirk
17 Carter Stephenson
18 Theodore Pauli
19 Fredrik Noren
20 Justin Brayton


The drama in the last Chance Qualifier happened before the gate fell. Justin Brayton just barely got his bike to the line after a 15-minute motor swap. Chad Reed then pulled the holehot with Brayton in third. Within three laps Brayton took over the lead while Kyle Cunningham worked up to fourth behind Dustin Winter. Alex Ray was then nipping at Cunningham’s heals. In the closing laps, both Cunningham and Ray passed Winter, then Cunningham kept on going and passed Reed. Winter was the first man left out.

1 Justin Brayton
2 Kyle Cunningham
3 Chad Reed
4 Alex Ray
5 Austin Politelli
6 Dustin Winter
7 Joshua Cartwright
8 Joan Cros
9 Daniel Herrlein
10 Cade Clason
11 Dylan Merriam
12 Theodore Pauli
13 Cody Vanbuskirk
14 Jared Lesher
15 Joel Wightman
16 Aj Catanzaro
17 Alexander Nagy
18 Carter Stephenson
19 Colton Aeck
20 Curren Thurman
21 Scotty Wennerstrom
22 Fredrik Noren


1 Adam Cianciarulo 50.275
2 Eli Tomac 51.016
3 Jason Anderson 51.208
4 Ken Roczen 51.309
5 Justin Barcia 51.519
6 Malcolm Stewart 51.592
7 Zach Osborne 51.602
8 Vince Friese 51.841
9 Justin Hill 51.884
10 Dean Wilson 51.896
11 Justin Brayton 51.922
12 Blake Baggett 52.090
13 Martin Davalos 52.172
14 Cooper Webb 52.365
15 James Decotis 52.497
16 Benny Bloss 52.504
17 Aaron Plessinger 52.754
18 Chris Blose 53.046
19 Justin Bogle 53.162
20 Kyle Cunningham 53.363
21 Fredrik Noren 53.442
22 Alex Ray 54.092
23 Austin Politelli 54.654
24 Chad Reed 54.747
25 Daniel Herrlein 54.817
26 Cade Clason 55.078
27 Joan Cros 55.234
28 Joshua Cartwright 55.375
29 Colton Aeck 55.647
30 Curren Thurman 55.795
31 Dylan Merriam 55.964
32 Dustin Winter 55.967
33 Jared Lesher 56.182
34 Aj Catanzaro 56.293
35 Carter Stephenson 56.352
36 Scotty Wennerstrom 56.472
37 Theodore Pauli 56.557
38 Alexander Nagy 56.822
39 Cody Vanbuskirk 56.842
40 Joel Wightman 57.726
41 Josh Greco 57.892
42 Jake Hogan 58.217
43 Kyle Dillin 1:00.179
44 Vann Martin 1:00.651
45 David Pulley 1:02.697

Comments are closed.