Ken Roczen was delighted with the first moto of the 450 class at the 2019 Hangtown National Motocross. After nailing down the fastest qualifying time he won the first moto with a convincing performance. He had to work for it, initially at least, because Cooper Webb got the holeshot with Jason Anderson, Justin Barcia and Blake Baggett following. Roczen passed all save Webb within a lap or two. The Web/Roczen battle lasted for some time, but eventually, Roczen make a pass and made it stick. Through the middle of the race, the most entertainment came from Eli Tomac, who had a number of formidable riders lined up in front of him. He spent the early laps chasing Zach Osborne, then he worked his way up to Anderson, who was running third. Tomac passed Anderson,  then Anderson passed him right back. That seemed to wake up Anderson, who then closed up on Webb and challenged for second. Those two battled back and forth for several laps. Eventually, Anderson took over for good. He finished 15 seconds behind Roczen.

The start was critical, and Marvin Musquin was buried in the pack.

The rain just began to fall at the end of the race which had most riders wondering how the track would hold up. “A lot of bad stuff can happen or a lot of good stuff can happen” said Roczen afterward.

Anderson was all smiles. “I’m just happy to be riding. I’ve only been on the bike for four weeks now.”

 For extended coverage of Hangtown 2019, click here


1 Ken Roczen
2 Jason Anderson
3 Cooper Webb
4 Eli Tomac
5 Zach Osborne
6 Blake Baggett
7 Marvin Musquin
8 Justin Barcia
9 Cole Seely
10 Justin Bogle
11 Dean Ferris
12 Todd Waters
13 Jake Masterpool
14 Ben LaMay
15 Cody Cooper
16 Justin Hill
17 Fredrik Noren
18 Tyler Bowers
19 Dare DeMartile
20 Dylan Merriam
21 Lorenzo Locurcio
22 Erki Kahro
23 Taiki Koga
24 Henry Miller
25 Mathias Jorgensen
26 Caleb Tennant
27 Brandan Leith
28 Tyler Stepek
29 Jeremy Smith
30 Kolton Dean
31 Dustin Winter
32 Chris Alldredge
33 Casey Brennan
34 Robert Piazza
35 Derek Kelley
36 Toshiki Tomita
37 James Weeks
38 Cade Autenrieth
39 Justin Hoeft
40 Austin Kouba

HRC Honda’s Ken Roczen rode to a dominative victory over the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 450 class in moto one.

Comments are closed.