Star Yamaha’s Justin Cooper was on a mission in the first moto of the first race of the 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season. He got the holeshot and led every lap of the race. It wasn’t a smooth, easy race for him, though. Throughout the race, Adam Cianciarulo applied relentless pressure. Halfway though the race, the two riders were side-by-side, but Cianciarulo just couldn’t close the deal. Behind him, Geico Honda’s Chase Sexton was fairly lonely for most of the race, but things heated up  in a big way on the final lap. Dylan Ferrandis made a wild last-minute charge to take over third place on the final lap. For extended coverage of Hangtown 2019, click here.

Star Racing/Yamaha’s Justin Cooper kicked off the 2019 Pro Motocross series with a win in moto 1.

“I had a crash in practice and qualified 10th,” said Cooper afterward. “I  wasn’t having the best day.  But I got the start and just took it from there. It was a long race and I had a couple of close calls, but I’m happy to get it done!”

Justin led the 250 class moto 1 from start to finish.

Adam Cianciarulo was upbeat despite getting second. “It was difficult race. Justin was killing it on the uphill and around the outside, but I could catch him a little near the finish. Actually I got arm pump, which is weird for me. But, second is as good as the first in the first moto.”

This was Adam Cianciarulo’s view for most of the first moto. The Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider made a few charges for the lead but ultimately fell short.


1 Justin Cooper
2 Adam Cianciarulo
3 Dylan Ferrandis
4 Chase Sexton
5 Colt Nichols
6 R.J. Hampshire
7 Michael Mosiman
8 Garrett Marchbanks
9 Martin Davalos
10 Derek Drake
11 Hunter Lawrence
12 Ty Masterpool
13 Christian Craig
14 Shane McElrath
15 Wilson Todd
16 Kyle Peters
17 Jordan Bailey
18 Jacob Hayes
19 Jordon Smith
20 Martin Castelo
21 Jerry Robin
22 Nick Gaines
23 Alex Martin
24 Zane Merrett
25 Yusuke Watanabe
26 Benjamin Nelko
27 Thomas Covington
28 Killian Auberson
29 Dylan Bolinger
30 Ciaran Naran
31 Kai Aiello
32 Nathen Laporte
33 Corbin Hayes
34 Brandon Hartranft
35 Adrian Galamba
36 Chris Howell
37 Mitchell Falk
38 Challen Tennant
39 Deegan Vonlossberg
40 Wade Brommel

Dylan Ferrandis made a last lap pass to earn himself the final spot on the podium.



Comments are closed.